I need to learn to accept failure.

Talor Berthelson
NotMostly
Published in
2 min readJun 22, 2016

I know it can take a long time to work out exactly what you want to do in your life, including your career. I never expected it would take me this long to figure out that I may never have any idea.

For so long, I worked trying to become something I’m not. I was naive and unwilling to accept failure. I think you have to acknowledge failure to be able to move on and grow. For too long, I held onto the idea that I was just never given the right opportunity.

Now, I look at the view of my past through a few different windows. I wasn’t given opportunities because they’re not simply gifts handed out to everyone who wishes to have one. Some of them are given to those already privileged. Some are given to those who show that they want them. Only in very rare instances can you show no drive and receive the fruits of your own lack of labor.

Growing is not something I find easy. I would say it’s never come easy to me. I’m a fast learner but only because I take every shortcut there is while stepping on all of the details along the way. Taking it slow seems like the only way forward when I need to speed things along the most. I want to believe I can achieve whatever I was put here to do, I just hope it comes to me before too long. Find the unearthed skill, stimulate what’s there, and find out how to grow it.

--

--

Talor Berthelson
NotMostly

A thirsty individual. I want to eat power pellets. Waka Waka. Waka.