Thanks to Magic Mockups

Switching to Medium

Talor Berthelson
NotMostly
2 min readJun 19, 2016

--

For a long time, I wanted to run my own server, run my own blog software, and host everything. To feel like I was always in control of absolutely everything as it pertained to my digital life.

As it turns out, that’s not actually what I really wanted at all. I wanted a place that would allow me to express myself freely that looked nice but was fairly easy to write for when I just wanted to write. On my quest, I searched high and low to find exactly what I was looking for, from Jekyll to Hexo, to Ghost to HTMLy. Up until a few days ago, I was going to continue to stay on Ghost. That was up until my fiancé suggested Medium as being the landing place for her own content. At that point, I began to research the platform as a potential landing place for me. I feel like the environment around it allows for more meaningful conversations and a place where NotMostly can grow.

Ultimately, what made my decision was fiddling with the Publication options here on Medium. I like that I’m given just enough options to suit my needs and it’s still as elegant as can be. I’ll say it was about time the site was due for a makeover anyway, and this was the perfect time to do it. So long as I continue to find inspiration and topics to discuss, Medium and I are going to get along just fine.

--

--

Talor Berthelson
NotMostly

A thirsty individual. I want to eat power pellets. Waka Waka. Waka.