The difference between COMPUTED and METHODS in Vue.js

Let’s understand the difference and which one to use.

Luca Spezzano
NotOnlyCSS

--

Now it’s some months that I’m using Vue.js and something that made me confused for the first few weeks was the difference between computed and methods.

I have read a lot of resources and I was able to find many answers and explanations but I have never found something that really made it clear in my mind.

So I would like to explain hoping it will remove your doubts :)

They are very similar and could be used to do same things many times but at the same time they are very different and need to be used in different ways.

Now let’s try to explain, with the help of some candies 🍬 😬.

Methods

--

--

Luca Spezzano
NotOnlyCSS

Frontend developer focused on CSS architecture of scalable and maintainable large scale projects and the development of amazing user interfaces.