Awesome Kitchen Hacks: The French Toast

French Toast for everyone!

Nour Ashraf Naguib
Nour In The Kitchen
4 min readAug 20, 2016

--

Hey everyone, as I have mentioned in my previous blog post, I am having a love affair with my kitchen and constantly need to be dragged out of it to rest for 15 minutes before going back in again for hours straight. I absolutely love cooking and baking food for my friends and family and spend more time in the kitchen than is acceptable for my sanity, but hey, I love it so why not! ;)

In this crazy amount of time spent in the kitchen, I learned a lot of tricks to help make my life easier, more organized and crazy-free if that’s a word… I say it is a word. So I decided to share these tricks with the world, hoping I would, one day, prevent a fellow kitchen worrier from losing it.

So let’s all pretend that I am not anxious about writing this blog post and that I am super confident in my writing skills and get on with it :D (insert a-see-no-evil-monkey-emoji).

My first trick had to be about something sweet of course! Duh! That is why I picked my favorite trick to show you first: It is my 3-minute French Toast, because French Toast makes everyone’s lives better, doesn’t it? Who would get up, have some French Toast for breakfast and won’t feel like he/she has the world wrapped around their finger and ready to carry on with the day wearing a huge smile? I don’t know anyone who doesn’t, certainly not me! That is because this simple dish is warm, is delicious, it fills you up and you can have it a million and one ways without ever getting bored of it. So let’s get on with the trick shall we?

This trick is so dear to my heart because it allows me to have my dose of French Toast at anytime, in under 3 minutes. Well, to start with you gotta actually make your French Toast, using your favorite recipe, and making a huge batch out of it. And remember that the milkier your bread is, the better results you will get (something like a brioche bun or even rich bake milk toast with the blue-colored packaging for easier access).

Make all of your French Toast, eat your share of the day and let the rest of them cool completely.

Once they have cooled down, you will layer them one on top of the other with a piece of wax paper or foil in between each pair, anything that keeps them from sticking to each other, and insert them in a freezer bag.

Freez until you want some more of this deliciousness. All you got to do is to get some slices out of your freezer and into your toaster.

Once they are done, the world is your pickle. Add some maple syrup, Nutella, Peanut butter & Jam, fresh fruit…whichever you fancy and you will be in for a very delicious treat that took no time at all!

Pheeww…That wasn’t so bad after all :) I hope you get to try this trick and eat French Toast to your heart’s desire! — and if you do it would mean the world to me if you let me know how it went in a comment!

Until next time.

--

--