Hold On to the Joyful Moments

Roderick Conwi
Nourishment Notes
Published in
2 min readJan 15, 2021

They will help get us through this pandemic.

With the COVID-19 pandemic, these past nine months have been undoubtedly difficult. I’ve been fortunate and privileged to be able to work from home during this time. At times, I do get cabin fever, where I feel like I’m stuck inside and can’t do anything about it. Many moments feel mundane, and that’s okay. It’s a result of my prolonged stay at home. Like I said, it’s a privilege to be able to be home most of the time during this pandemic. The mundane moments, however physically safe they are, are still mundane. At first, I hated being bored, but now I guess I’m just used to it.

It hasn’t been entirely mundane. There have been joyful moments. When these moments come, hold onto them as much as you can. They’re the moments that will help get you through the darkness.

Since the pandemic started, I’ve really enjoyed simple moments with my family. Having family movie night (especially when it’s a new movie released via streaming), game night, or just taking a walk outside has been wonderful. We’ve celebrated many simple birthdays with the celebrant’s favorite meal for dinner with a small cake. The holidays were definitely different, and even a little sad (missing loved ones), but overall, we managed to make them special.

Now, with multiple vaccines released and people slowly becoming vaccinated, there is a light coming at the end f this pandemic tunnel. I don’t know how long it’s going to take to get there, but it’s coming. Until then, I’m going to enjoy the moments that bring joy.

--

--

Roderick Conwi
Nourishment Notes

Author, Writer, & Poet. Activiely exploring life and all its wonderful complexities.