I’m Optimistic, Cautiously Optimistic

Hope for the best, but prepare for the worst.

Roderick Conwi
Nourishment Notes
2 min readApr 6, 2020

--

I am not blind. I am not naive. I know that the COVID-19 pandemic is real and dangerous. It’s been deadly, and for now, still will be. For the time being, our world is living in uncertainty and trying to adjust to it.

I must say, I still am optimistic. I’ve spent most of my life being an optimist, but I am also a realist. I take facts, evidence, and statistics into consideration with almost everything I do. I learned early in my life to take calculated, but not reckless risks. I know that I always have to balance my optimism and pragmatic realism.

I hope for the best, but prepare for the worst. I am hopeful that we, as a society, will survive this pandemic. I am mentally preparing myself for worst case scenarios. I know that it’s going to be hard. I expect to be pushed further and further outside of my comfort zone. I expect there to be more death and grief. Every fiber of my being tells me that it’s going to get much worse before it STARTS to get better.

Despite all that, I am still optimistic. We will survive this. I know it’ll be tough, take a lot of effort, and even more time. Considering that, I am still optimistic for the future.

--

--

Roderick Conwi
Nourishment Notes

Author, Writer, & Poet. Activiely exploring life and all its wonderful complexities.