It’s Okay to Miss Everyone

Your family and friends miss you too.

Roderick Conwi
Nourishment Notes
2 min readMay 20, 2020

--

If you’re missing people right now, you’re not alone. We have been practicing physical social distancing for over two months now, and it is hard not to feel isolated.

It’s okay to miss your family and friends. It means that you enjoy spending your time with them, which is something is not readily available right now. If you miss them, it means that you care about them.

Although I miss a lot of my daily life before the pandemic, one of the parts I miss the most is the people. Sure, there is social media and video conferencing, and those do help, but it isn’t quite the same as physically spending time with the people I care about.

I know I’m not alone to say that I do miss my family and friends. I miss going out to dinner with them, celebrating special occasions, or just having sporadic hangouts. I miss talking to them about anything, and at times, not much at all. Sometimes we don’t need to talk; sometimes just hanging around is enough.

Until we are able to safely transition our society towards something that somewhat resembles “normal life,” physically distancing ourselves to slow the spread of COVID-19 is what we need to do to keep as many people alive as possible. Until then, I will dearly miss my friends and family, and that’s okay.

--

--

Roderick Conwi
Nourishment Notes

Author, Writer, & Poet. Activiely exploring life and all its wonderful complexities.