On H.A.T.E.

(Hurtful Attitude Towards Everyone)

Roderick Conwi
Nourishment Notes
2 min readJun 25, 2019

--

Hate is an ugly four-letter word. I used to think that hating bad things was good, now I realize that as well-intentioned as I was, I was misguided. I hated ignorance, discrimination, and injustice. I used to “hate hate,” but that showed to be futile. I’ve reached a point in my life where I’m tired of hate being in my life. I’ve spent countless hours throughout my life in periods of hate, which are moments I’ll never get back.

I don’t regret what happened in the past. It’s done. What happened needed to happen in order for me to learn valuable life lessons. There is still so much for me to learn, but I do know that hate doesn’t bring anything valuable to my life.

Spending time hating someone or something seems like a huge waste of time to me now. Maybe it’s because I’m getting older, the ideas of revenge or seeing bad things happen to hurtful people doesn’t interest me anymore. Hating anyone who has hurt me in any way puts a burdening weight on my body. I believe it’s not worth it to hate anyone; it doesn’t make me feel any better and I deserve to move on.

Hate doesn’t solve any problems; it just makes things worse. Hate brings unnecessary toxic waste into our bodies that influence our mood and daily choices. It taints how we act, react, and interact with other people.

We all deserve to live life without this burden. Hate can’t dissolve hate, only love, friendship, and compassion can do that. Whenever I feel hate creeping in, I put more effort into being more loving, kind, and compassionate. I can’t completely eliminate hate in my life, but I can get better at dealing with it.

--

--

Roderick Conwi
Nourishment Notes

Author, Writer, & Poet. Activiely exploring life and all its wonderful complexities.