To All My Friends Who I Haven’t Talked To in a While…

An open letter to my friends as an adult in the time of COVID-19.

Roderick Conwi
Nourishment Notes
2 min readJun 28, 2020

--

To all my friends who I haven’t seen or talked to in a while,

I hope that you all are doing well. In this time of the COVID-19 pandemic, I hope that you all are physically safe, economically stable, and emotionally well.

It’s been quite a while since we last spoke. I’m sorry. I apologize for being so busy. It’s been a challenge to balance all the responsibilities that life has been throwing at me in this stage of life. It’s been hard. I admit, I haven’t been the best friend in the whole world. I should have reached out to you more. I should have made more of an effort. It kills me that so much time has already passed, and I can’t do anything to change what happened.

I want you to know that I still value your friendship; I still consider you my friend. People often say that friendship knows no boundaries when it comes to distance or time. I believe in that. You have been, and as of right now, you still are a dear friend to me.

There have been many times when we talk and it feels like we just talked the day before, even if it was months or years. To me, that’s a sign of a true friend.

As my friend, I still carry memories of us in me. Every once in a while, something will remind me of something that we did, or something we talked about. Many of those were fun times. A good chunk of those were hard, but necessary times too. I learned lessons that I needed. As painful as these moments were, I needed them to be who I am now. That’s just one reason why I hold my friends close to my heart.

I promise to try harder to reconnect soon. If I wait, it may be too late. I can’t wait for the pandemic to be over, because who knows how long this is going to last. I’ll text, call, or send a message on some platform. Until then, know that I haven’t forgotten about you, our memories, or how much you mean to me.

Roderick Conwi is the Executive Editor at Nourishment Notes. He is also the author of The Procrastinator’s Quick Guide To Getting It Done. To get powerful insights that enhance your day, join his free newsletter.

--

--

Roderick Conwi
Nourishment Notes

Author, Writer, & Poet. Activiely exploring life and all its wonderful complexities.