You Should Always Be Your Unapologetically-Weird Self

Roderick Conwi
Nourishment Notes
Published in
2 min readMay 25, 2017
Photo Credit: Marcus Cederberg / CC0 1.0

We’re all a little weird. There is no true definition of “normal.” Normal is just a social construct that we’ve created in order to have society comply to a general set of behaviors. We all deviate in some form or fashion from what we consider “normal.”

Don’t get me wrong, there is value to having some kind of “normal.” What we consider normal defines our social norms, which are a sort of social rules that we abide by. Social norms define what behaviors are socially acceptable and unacceptable in specific social situations. They help keep our society functioning, well, normally.

The important thing to know is that what makes you weird makes you unique, and you should embrace that. That is what makes you special. That is exactly what makes you an individual. Embrace all the wonderful and quirky things that make you, you.

Take a look inside and embrace who you are. I am an optimistic person with a passion for social justice. I make clever, yet sarcastic jokes. I’m a writer fascinated by almost every topic (productivity, entrepreneurship, life hacks, technology, art, poetry, and more).

I know this is who I am right now. I accept it. It may change later, and that’s okay. But for now, I embrace and love who I am. Through my daily journeys, I both defined and discovered myself. I am not perfect, but it can be argued that I am perfect just the way that I am.

So, I say to you, my friend, be your unapologetically weird self. No one else can be you except you, and because of that, you are special. The world needs you to be you.

This post was previously published at Nourishment Notes.

Roderick Conwi is a professional development coach and writes at Nourishment Notes about lifestyle development. He is also the author of The Procrastinator’s Quick Guide To Getting It Done. To get powerful insights that enhance your day, join his free newsletter.

--

--

Roderick Conwi
Nourishment Notes

Author, Writer, & Poet. Activiely exploring life and all its wonderful complexities.