Make everyday life better with technology.

Rushank Shah
Novumlogic
Published in
3 min readSep 5, 2022

Recently someone asked me, what is the vision of your company?. I answered in a very simple manner:

  1. To create a better everyday life with help of technology.
  2. Be loyal and transparent to your employees and clients.
Photo by Marvin Meyer on Unsplash

As IT professionals, our job is to make life easy for everyone and use technology as a solution to real-life problems.

While we try to make our clients' and their users’ life better, we make sure that our organization and employees have it as well.

Let me share with you one of the solutions that I implemented in novumlogic.

We have an HRMS portal which we use to manage leaves, holidays, policies, personal details, etc.

Portal is good to manage everything but,

  1. to check and apply leaves, policies, holidays, etc., we have to log in to the portal, visit different pages, etc.
  2. you need to check birthday and work anniversary reminders every day not to miss them.

I was wondering how can I make it easy for my team!

At that time we shifted to slack from skype for our daily communication with the team. So I was exploring slack and was quite impressed that slack provides an option to create an app where you can create your own bot and slack commands.

After IDEs, Slack is the most used tool in our company and I felt that I should create a bot and slack commands for these problems.

I created the following features in our HRMS slack channel :

  1. Automatic reminder post a day before to inform the upcoming holiday.
Upcoming holiday reminder post

2. An automatic post to wish for the birthday and work anniversary of the team members.

Birthday Post
Work Anniversary Post

3. commands :
a) /holiday : It displays all public holidays list.
b) myleave <year> : It displays total, remaining, and used leave.
c) /hrpolicy : It displays the HR policy document.

Slack Commands

It’s been now 3 years and it is working perfectly fine.

Now I am planning to implement another 2 most important features:

  1. Apply for leave through the slack command and get a response in the same thread.
  2. Check and access personal documents, information, salary slip, etc.

This is my bit to better everyday life at novumlogic, I am on to solve other cumbersome problems and make life easy.

Keep watching this space for more.

--

--