Now You’re Talking Network Newsletter June edition: What do I say? What can I do? Where do I go from here?

Lola Ola
Now You’re Talking
2 min readJun 18, 2020

Welcome! We share a short extract from our monthly newsletter on Medium. Check it out below.

Lola here, and welcome to Now You’re Talking Network’s June newsletter edition themed around questions you can ponder in this current climate.

First COVID-19, which shook the world, millions of job losses, rising deaths and unstable markets and now the killing of Geroge Floyd. This has caused unrest globally and has put a spotlight on the systematic injustice that black people across the world are facing and have been battling for hundreds of years — oppression, economic disadvantages, systemic prejudice, unlawful deaths, innocent people put in the prison system to name a few.

As a community run by two black women and given many of our members are black women we have a no-nonsense attitude to racism/discrimination in any form. ⁣

In this season, we should be asking ourselves these questions: What do I say? What can I do? Where do I go from here?

What do I say?

  • Use your voice to amplify black voices whether it’s reaching out to black colleagues or friends to hear about their experiences or checking in on them or featuring more black women on your podcast, this is a step in the right direction. Ask yourself, how can I amplify black voices in my day-to-day experience?

What can I do?

  • Support black-owned businesses, check what your employer’s actions are to tackle systematic injustice, check employee resource groups in your firm on how you can get involved. Shop local. Ask yourself when was the last time you bought from a small business?

Where do I go from here?

  • Continue educating yourself, whether it’s reading on black experiences through resources such as films & tv series to watch, books/articles to read, podcasts to subscribe to and organisations to follow. Ask yourself, when was the last time I consumed content by someone who doesn’t look like me?

The rest of this newsletter includes:

  • Detail of our upcoming events
  • Articles worth the extra browser tab
  • Podcasts you need in your life
  • Opportunities you can’t miss
  • Network shout outs

What are you waiting for? Sign up for yourself here.

--

--

Lola Ola
Now You’re Talking
0 Followers

I write all things, Personal Development, Product Management and I also touch on Gender Equality and Empowerment for girls/women