A Hoot in The Night

An Illusive Night Visitor

Petra Clark
Nowisms
2 min readSep 14, 2023

--

Photo by nicolas saulnier on Unsplash

Hoot hoot. Hoot hoot.

Hush. I whisper to my mind. What did I just hear?

Hoot hoot. Hoot hoot.

An Owl? Are you there? Deep in the darkest hour of the night. I toss my sheets across my body.

Hoot hoot. Hoot hoot.

Indeed an owl. Outside my window.

I wonder what you look like mighty owl. I can only wonder. Are you gray or white? Are you brown with speckles? Are you a big owl? Are you a small one?

I stir a little longer, listening. Silence.

Owl? Where did you go? I cannot hear you any longer.

I throw off my sheets and make my way to the sliding glass door. I peer out. Pitch black nothingness assaults my eyes. Not a star, not a light aiding my vision. I slowly open the door, careful not to wake the sleeping brood in the other room.

I step out into the darkness, cool air surrounds my body. The smell of the night air touches my nose. If darkness had a smell it would smell like damp rocks, leaves, and hidden secrets of the night. Secrets covered by the enveloping darkness where many things like to hide and get gently unveiled. I hug myself, feeling my body. Thankful for this cool nights comforting velvet embrace.

Where are you owl? My eyes search, adjusting to the darkness outside.

On top of the roof? On the fence? Over in that tree? How about the other one? I scan the dark landscape. Not a hoot to be heard. Not a wing, a feather, any sign. My heart sinks. I cannot see you night visitor. I’ll try again another night. I head back inside. I step into the toasty room. I feel soothed by the snug air doused with sleeping breath and cotton pajamas.

Good night owl.

For the past 4 nights, I have been hearing an owl outside my window. Usually, it hoots around the same time every night. I am curious, I want to know what it looks like, and even more curious, what could it mean? Why is your hoot so loud? Do you have a nest nearby? Are you relaying a message? I’ve pondered the past few nights. Since it’s been a regular occurring phenomenon lately, I feel comforted any time I’ve heard it. I am grateful for the sound, and appreciative of nature’s soothing lullabies.

--

--