Alchemizing sadness into kindness

KC Tillman
Nowisms
Published in
4 min readAug 15, 2023

--

Flowers bought for sadness relief

This past Saturday was the first of several days where I awoke in a more heart centered state after several weeks of physical and energetic depletion. I relished in the fact that after a few of life’s unpredictable storms — a dog bite, a toe infection from imbedded glass, car being broken into — all within a week; I was finally getting my vibration back up as a result of a ton of much needed self-care and rest. After spending the morning listening to some uplifting content from the great Dr. Wayne Dyer and doing some energy/breath work, I decided to take my dog for a walk.

At the intersection of where I reside, I noticed the area cordoned off with the dreaded yellow and black tape. I looked up to see a vehicle with a shattered windshield as a disintegrated motorcycle lain at the edge of the smashed bumper. Chills began to prickle my arms as my gaze peered over to an erect black tent that was keeping the deceased motorcyclist out of view. Full fledged goose bumps covered my body as tears stung my eyes while registering the shock of the situation.

Once home, overcome with emotion, my daughter noticed my distraught expression and kept asking what was wrong. I couldn’t get air into my lungs for what seemed to be an eternity. In jagged breaths I was at last able to explain what had transpired. Sadness for all involved descended on us like a ton of bricks. We figured it would be good to get out of the house as the investigation was unfolding. To lighten the mood, we decided a new house plant (not that we need anymore as our space already looks like an oasis) would lift our spirits.

At the store, I decided to also indulge in some flowers to brighten things up and was inspired to buy some to later place at the intersection. The floral manager, after hearing the story told us to grab more bouquets that she insisted on discounting and even gave us some free flowers to place at the site for her. The kindness was a soothing balm to our hurting hearts. When we returned, I suggested we also place a bouquet near one of the patrol cars on the outskirts of the yellow tape with a note for the first responders—that simply read thank you first responders for all you do. Our hearts go out to you and everyone involved. Signed, grateful citizens—since my heart was also heavy for them at the thought of the thankless jobs they do day in and day out.

Every time there was mention of how tragic this was or each time we’d sigh with a rock-residing-on-the-chest feeling, I invited us to send love to the deceased’s family, to the driver of the vehicle, to the first responders, to the coroner, to the witnesses, basically to anyone affected by this gut wrenching situation. Sending love was an energetic cleanse that prevented us from spiraling too far down a morose rabbit-hole. It helped us to soften our own heartache, knowing that we could send strangers pure love — being that there wasn’t any other way we could help, so to speak.

I kept thinking of a Mr. Rogers quote that has always helped me in tragic times: “When I was a boy and would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, ‘Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.’ ” Even if all we could do was to send love, show our appreciation and pay our respects through flowers, in our eyes, it was better than nothing.

Today, I was blessed with crazy hair raising goosebumps again. But this time, it was through the validation of a tweet from the Boulder Police Department that read: “Two fatal traffic crashes in the city in the past two weeks have been tragic for everyone involved. Our officers were busy investigating Saturday’s crash when one of them noticed something left near a patrol car. This kindness moved us. Life can be fragile. Please be safe out there #Boulder We’ll be here if you need us.” A photo of our flower bouquet and note accompanied the tweet. Our gesture brought them comfort, which was the intention. Never in a million years did I think I would know how our offering would be received and I’m grateful to know that we were able to “help” in our own way.

This accident was what I am hoping to be the last of this series of unfortunate events that have transpired over the last couple of weeks. What life’s stormy season of late has taught me is that not a single person is spared from adversity or pain. How we respond to those situations determines how much suffering might linger. When we choose to live from a heart-centered place of love and kindness, by stepping outside of our own yucky circumstances, I believe we are changing the world. One act of kindness, one baby step, one vibration at a time. We are elevating human consciousness by setting an example of love.

We are all very familiar with the old adage when life gives you lemons, make lemonade. But what happens if the lemons are rotten, you may ask. My answer is simple, why not compost them returning them to nature where they can go on to nourish the earth?

What I’m attempting to convey is that there is usually always a way to prevent something from becoming a complete waste. Thinking outside the box, molding my perception and searching for meaning is how I’m able to see silver linings despite the darkest of times.

--

--

KC Tillman
Nowisms

Author of Ascending the Fourteener of Recovery. Seeker of knowledge. Lover of love, life, laughter, higher consciousness, soul expansion, and metaphysics.