Rhythms of the Grind

It’s Okay to Embrace the Mundane and Still Find Growth in Music

Nin Abayata
Nowisms
3 min readNov 29, 2023

--

So, my life’s like a calendar with only two seasons: Summer, where I’m all about the hustle, and Winter, where I’m… well, still hustling but with a chance to catch my breath.

I’m kind of like in my summer time for months now. Eagerly planting, looking forward to the harvest. I’m that one worker ant hoarding like a maniac.

Sadly, at work, it sometimes feels like we’re just producing, not really growing…

Not every stroke is a masterpiece, right?

Designing’s my thing, but some days feel like I’m just painting by numbers.

No matter how I love to design, every day isn’t always a learning experience. Let’s make peace with the fact that some days are just like that — we all need to just chase deadlines.

Some positivity folks might dress up the idea that there’s always something exciting every day at work. I used to say that in job interviews, but we all know it’s not always the case.

And then there’s this expectation at work to always be on a learning curve. But let’s face it, sometimes the curve flattens out, and you’re just running on a treadmill — moving but not really going anywhere.

Without growth, there’s no fulfillment.

Gone were the days when you’re looking for the magic recipe to productivity.

When productivity becomes routine, you start wondering, “What’s the point?” It’s like finally getting to the end of a long queue and forgetting why you were there in the first place.

But hey, work isn’t always a rainbow parade. Sometimes, it’s just about getting things done, no frills attached.

Mastery and learning? There are days for that. I don’t think there’s something wrong with saying today’s just not the day.

I find the most joy in knowing that the end result of my hard work gives value to clients and somehow improves the quality of their life. But the truth is, 90% of the time they’re not always in a grateful mood.

You submit a project, and it’s delivered. A tick in the checkbox, a change of status. That’s okay.

It’s hard to rely on work appreciation to find fulfillment. I feel most fulfilled when I grow, and when growth isn’t there, I still need to work my ass off while looking for it somewhere else.

So, to add a little zing to my daily grind, I turned to music. It’s like finding a secret ingredient that turns a bland dish into a gourmet meal.

Suddenly, my summers are less about sweating and more about swinging to the beats, relating to the lyrics. The best part? When winter comes, I’ve got my playlist ready for me to enjoy!

I’m like a DJ on the Swipefy app. Swiping left and right on these 30-second songs, judging the music like I would judge a person on Tinder.

Every four Pomodoros, it’s break time. Nap time. That’s when I turn to the new tunes. Lying there, headphones on, I drift away with the latest additions to my playlist.

I fall in love with these 3-minute gems and couldn’t wait to share a relatable song in friendly conversations.

As I expand my playlist, I notice the spark of novelty, the joy of discovering something new — that same feeling you get when you watch the movie for the first time, but without the pain of having to commit too much.

I’m grateful to these artists.

I’ve never felt so thankful to the many musicians who commit to their music every day. They don’t have to go mainstream, they can definitely get the love from people like me. People who find consolation and comfort in the new rhythm of a 3-minute song.

They’re mini escapes, a quick 3-minute trip away from the daily grind.

These little breaks, these new beats, they’re more than just rest. They’re a reminder. There’s always something new out there. A fresh rhythm, a new melody. I can still grow without forcing new information in my already swollen work brain.

It’s a journey, with no destination. Just me, the music, and the road less traveled.

Now time to get back to work.

--

--

Nin Abayata
Nowisms

I'm a marketing and design creative. I love writing about authenticity (in marketing and life) and the human condition... as a way to make life a bit bearable.