Spirituality

The first memory

The Moment When Nothingness Ends

srgg6701
Nowisms
Published in
4 min readMar 13, 2023

--

The first memory
Image of the author of the article

Do you remember your first memory?

I remember mine: a vertical strip of light between closed shutters. I don’t know why it seems to me that there were shutters because it was the first glimmer of my consciousness, and there was nothing in it.

Perhaps subsequent memories have overlaid on this first one. It’s impossible to figure it out now.

Then I remembered one moment. I was 14 years old. I was walking from my grandmother’s house in the city center to where I lived. It was pretty far, about five kilometers. I remembered that moment. I told myself: you are 14 now, remember this point in time. Later you will return to it many times and look from your present into your past, where you exist simultaneously and where you don’t.

It seems that around the same time, I came to the logical conclusion that death does not exist. Yes, it was a logical inference. It was elegant, well-reasoned, and constructed on impeccable arguments (as it seemed to me then). Unfortunately, I did not memorize it, and since then, I have not been able to reconstruct it. It has somewhat overshadowed my life because I know that death exists.

The other thing is nonexistence. By the way, I admit that my proof concerned…

--

--

srgg6701
Nowisms

A provocative thinker, idiosyncratic to the problems of humans and humanity in general. Writing on philosophy, anthropology, psychology, art and technology.