What to do when your mug has more foam than beer

Shodhan Prakash
NowShoing
Published in
3 min readMay 17, 2018
Photo by Frank Luca on Unsplash

After I realised how bad my sense of volume was I decided to stick to wine and brew. I’m usually on beer when I’m out drinking since Bangalore’s drinkeries serve shitty wine for a hefty price. It once so happened that the waiter didn’t pour the lager as it was to be done and I was left with more foam in my mug than beer. What followed was a ten lifetime’s wait for it to settle. But then I realised something — getting the foam out made me less prone to burping (lager-loving ladies, are you listening?). And thats how I’ve been having my beers ever since.

Now there was only one problem keeping me from my golden manna — the goddamn foam!

Check out the other stuff I come up with: www.nowshoing.com

I had to figure out how to get rid of the lather quicker and join my gang before they raised a toast.

I’ve discovered that there are two ways one can go about this:

1) Use oil

I came across this video that suggested adding olive oil and another article that advised rubbing oil off your nose with your finger and then dipping it. The first option renders the beer undrinkable and the second one is just too unhygienic for me. I just twirl a fry in the foam; it works equally good.

Fun fact: wheat lager produce larger and longer-lasting heads than barley.

What the science?

The bubbles are basically carbon dioxide gas (some premium companies like Guinness use nitrogen) formed by carbonation.

What happens is, the oil breaks the surface tension in the foam causing the bubbles to wither away.

Me savouring beer by the boot

2) Use water

I stumbled upon this method a few days ago: I had a few friends over and it was my turn to bartend. While mixing their drinks I accidentally poured some water into my mug and watched it cut through the beer head like it was butter. Feeling partly victorious and partly curious, I knocked open a few more that night.

Sprinkling water can get awkward when you’re at a public house. Hence, as a substitute I toss in an ice-cube. And it chills my drink as well, so that’s a plus.

The ice has a negligible effect on taste (better than olive oil or sebum from my face, any day!). But know that water acts noticeably slower than oil.

Also, the reduction in foam is momentary (albeit the window should be enough to have you ready in time for cheers). Well, I’m no chemist but here’s my two cents on why the bubbles decrease temporarily –

What the science?

This is what I think happens, when water/ice is added the carbon dioxide gas reacts with water to form an aqueous solution of carbonic acid which in turn causes the foam to reduce.

This reaction is reversible

In addition, beer heads are composed of around five hydrophobic polypeptides which means that the ice should ideally repel foam around it.

Sadly, the chemical reaction is reversible. The carbonic acid will eventually convert back to carbon dioxide and water before it dissipates.

This is my hypothesis. I have no hard proof or anything. I’ll leave that to the white coats.

I’d love to hear how you handle your beer. Write to me.

Skol! 🍺

--

--

Shodhan Prakash
NowShoing

I believe I have the power to comfort souls and disturb minds…and so, I create!