3 Months being an intern…

Alexapires
NQ Digital Agency
Published in
3 min readJan 15, 2021

Hey everyone,

I’m Alexa, and I’m doing my Masters in Business Management in IPVC. To conclude the course, I chose to do an internship at a local company, where I could learn what project management is. Nothing better than NQDA, a young company in constant evolution that was founded by four colleagues who studied at IPVC.

When it comes to internship, the first thought is that you are going to make photocopies, get coffee and transport equipment. The internships at NQDA are anything but that, I truly felt that I was part of the projects. Throughout my experience, I had been able to bridge my studies into real life experience.

To start off, I wanted to thank NQDA, for giving me the opportunity to work with such a fantastic, intuitive and creative team, giving me a valuable insight in to the working life in management. During these last three months, my role in the company was to manage small projects and assist in client support. These tasks, that I was responsible for, gave me the opportunity to work closely with all the team, and comunicate with some clients. Because the team gave me the opportunity to work on a variety of projects, I had the chance to applicat some skills, tools, and techniques to project activities meetting the project requirements. It’s was really enjoyable to watch the process in action and help to make a project come to life.

Since my intership was during the covid-19 pandemic, I had the opportunity to see how the company managed the situation. They followed all the public health concerns, shifting to a remote internship experience. It was easy to work in these conditions because the company was very well prepared. We had constant communication through email, online chat and phone. There were, regular meetings were I received feedback of the work I’ve done. At Christmas, the company was so original, each employee received a basket with food and we made a dinner party by video call, where prizes were delivered and funny jokes were shared, it was a lot of fun.

I can confidently say I wouldn’t have grown as much as I have these past three months without this internship. The detailed feedback and unwavering support the team gave me was delightful. I’m so grateful for the opportunity I had to manage a project from start to end and see it online, and especially enjoyed the confidence that the team placed in me. I can’t wait to take the skills and best practices I’ve developed along the way with me to my next role.

I truly feel that each and every experience I had, while working here, will stay with me as I move through my career. As a result of this experience, I’m more excited than ever to pursue a career in Project Management. Thanks again for this incredible internship, and I wish the team all the best.

Best wishes,
Alexa Pires

--

--