Be and Grow in the Field

Cristiana Carvalho
NQ Digital Agency
Published in
4 min readOct 2, 2020

It’s not about a (simple) summer internship.

Can I steal you a couple of minutes? You deserve to know me better before I can do it.

Born and raised in Barcelos, a crazy and ambitious seventeen years old girl made up her mind to go alone to the capital to studying Management in the Nova SBE, two years ago. Always looking for new adventures and thickening her knowledge, this girl chose to not get a tanned skin this summer and sent her CV to an unexpected tech company named as NQDA in the north of Portugal, Viana do Castelo. This girl is me. Cristiana Carvalho.

The truth is that I’m such a relentless human with a huge desire of exploring the life and the possible ways of exceeding myself while trying to delivery justice and putting some (dis) order in my world. Efficient and fair management of our resources, what we have, combined with the ability and willingness to always produce and give our best is the optimal shot to satisfy my thirst. I like to think that I leave my best in everything I do. And that’s my brand.

Very shortly speaking, in my brain lives the passion about behavioural sciences, data science, sports, especially, football and athletics and, obviously, gastronomy and nutrition.

Let me answer to your “why this company?”.

By the way, this company named as NQDA is not only a tech company with pleasing infrastructures and a fantastic team but it is also the place that made me realized the beauty and the power of an efficient operations management regardless the scale and the environment.

Let me start to remind that several companies put a freeze on hiring people due to the impact of the Coronavirus pandemic. Against the odds, this gave me a stronger reason to look even further for an optimist and resilient tech company that cares about its people and its clients to do an internship. Within this environment of uncertainty, I wanted to understand how the managers were dealing with this atypically situation, the role of digitalization, the new operational strategies and I also wanted to hover around the technology sector. With an intensive googling and trying to match my requirements, I find out some news about a rising star company named NQDA.

Zero expectations, one job.

But, what job? You have to realize that it is hard for me define my role here. I was a kind of Quality and Operations Associate and also a Consultant.

I only had a task to be done in 5 weeks- support the implementation of ISO 27001:2013 and ISO 9001:2015 certifications, the world most recognized Information Security Management System and Quality Management System standard almost from the scratch.

I was responsible for the gathering and description of all company’s internal process and procedures, which provides me with a wide knowledge about the business and operations context, not only about NQDA as well as about the tech companies ecosystems, operating as service providers.

Gladly, Elisabete, my supervisor and an outstanding professional, trusted in my work and invited me to stay for more 3 weeks before I go to Barcelona. In simple numbers, with her supervision, I produced more than 40 papers- 12 specific policies of Information Security, 10 Procedure Sheets, 10 Process Sheets and more than 10 models (such records sheets, forms, evaluations sheets) and, most importantly, the Integrity Management System Hand-Book. Furthermore, I organized and participated in some meetings with the external consultants and CEO and I was responsible for putting everyone on board, through a weekly presentation.

Be in the field with everybody

During these 2 months, I had the opportunity to work closely and create bonds with people from different backgrounds namely Designers, Developers, Project Managers, Sales Manager, Operations Manager and even the CEO. And what a family! I was so fortunate to be welcomed by such an amazing team! It was “funnily astonish” working with you!

Grow in the field with the best people

I appreciated so much for let me swimming in the operations and quality management field and be part of this remarkable step in NQDA’s history. And a big and special thank you to my dear Elisabete, Ricardo e Miguel for all the pieces of advice and solid support and Érica and Helena for the amazing energy and care.

I am a better professional and person with greater values because of all these people.

Always be more than an internship.

--

--