What I have got from “Dimension Data Challenge 2018”

Nuch Pawida
Nuch Stories
Published in
5 min readMar 19, 2018

Let me start off by saying that this is literally based on personal experiences and opinions that I have got from Dimension Data Challenge 2018 on March 10, 2018.

Where did I get this event information?

Recently, I have participated in the IT event of my university which was held by my major called CE Smart Career. There were many interesting company booths. One of them is dimension data so I did not hesitate to talk with PP’ at the booth for more information.

Dimension data booth in CE Smart Career Event

Let’s start!

On the event day, I had to register at 8.30 am and then, there were alumni who were contestant come to speak about their experience last year and the next part was TESTING. Starting with a programming test, To be honest, I have not known before whether it has a programming test so, I did not prepare myself for it at all. The programming section, they gave me 25 minutes to solve the 3 hard question as follows

  1. Could you describe and distinguish between Data flow and Sequence Diagram?
  2. You have to create the method that can be put an array of random primitive int values and your method must return the output values that need to be arranged in ascending order. Write the code thoroughly.
    (I cannot remember the true output would it be but something like this)
  3. This is similar to the previous question just changing input and output a bit

As you can see, the last 2 question is not that hard just only test your logic. if you are well-prepared, you can do it well for sure but you have to work against time to finish it so DON’T forget to manage your time and always keep in mind that you have just 25 minutes.

As the proverb that …

A good beginning is half the battle

The next test is a big part that can be divided into 3 section. each section takes time 25 minutes.

  1. Network
    Subnet, OSPF, Ethernet
  2. System
    Linux command, RAID
  3. Security
    DDOS, trojans and Malware

After the test, they had 4 sessions to introduce in the following topics

  • SDN
  • Cybersecurity
  • Application Development
  • Customer Service & Digital Workplace

SDN

If you want to be Network engineer or the related matters, there is no way you have not by now heard of SDN.

What is SDN?

SDN is the physical separation of the network control plane from the forwarding plane, and where a control plane controls several devices.

In this session, the speaker focused on the big picture of SDN first. As a result, he did not speak dig much into it but just procedure and how to adjust this technology to the company.

Cybersecurity

Another chilling session that gave us a lot not only just knowledge but also REWARDs the things I can remember in this session is that I did not get the solar-cell power bank What an unlucky I am!

Application Development

According to the technology nowadays, In this session, you will see demonstrations of powerful products and you will get to witness first-hand some of the innovative ideas that will be commonly used in a few years’ time

Customer Service & Digital Workplace

the speaker taught me the approaches to use the trendy technology help the customer happier especially, using robotics technology like Chatbot
as someone once said…

Reinforce what works and drop what doesn’t, but always set your compass to where the market goes and make our customer happy

NEXT STATION … HAVE LUNCH!!

I am looking forward to eating this …

Tonkatsu — Japanese food

After having lunch, each group had to draw lots the topic and brainstorm in the team by spending time approximately 30 minutes. In part of my group, we got the Customer Experience & CX team topic and we needed to use Chatbot to make the customer satisfied. Firstly, we discussed about the subtopic what we should choose so we ended up by choosing the education. In other words, we had to list how can we bring the Chatbot to improve the customer’s perception and experience in term of education. Secondly, we divided the work as for me, I was in charge of decorating the package and typing the content in English. After our team was starting to gel we divided the presentation and I served as a promoter to present in part of how can the Chatbot work in technical term.

Time to PRESENT!!

After finished every team, it’s time of Certificate Awarding Ceremony and these are the faces of those who got the big jackpot and worthless prize.

they are so smart guys I respect!

That’s all I got from the great event. I have a chance to meet my old friends that long time no see and also met the new friends from the different universities, Although so many participants came from Ladkrabang haha. Thanks to Dimension Data for the life-changing experience and delectable food :P

If you want to know more about dimension data company, please head over to FACEBOOK page

--

--

Nuch Pawida
Nuch Stories

A full-time Scrum Master | part-time traveler with a passion for sharing productivity tips and offering offbeat reviews on all things random.