How to document a project with MkDocs 📹

Denis
NucuLabs
Published in
2 min readOct 16, 2021

Hello,

Welcome my third video tutorial, this time, on how to get started with MkDocs.

In this video I try to give you a basic overview of MkDocs and a configuration consisting of the material theme and search plugin.

Config

The MkDocs configuration used in the video.

site_name: My Cool Project Documentation theme: name: material features: - search.suggest - search.highlight - content.tabs.link plugins: - search nav: - Introduction: "index.md" - Tutorial: - Tutorial Subsection: "pages/tutorial/tutorial_subsection.md" - About: "pages/about.md" - FAQ: "pages/faq.md" markdown_extensions: - attr_list

Docker Deployment

When you’re ready to deploy your documentation website, say in Docker with Nginx the following Dockerfile and Nginx default.conf should do.

Dockerfile

FROM python:3.9 as builder WORKDIR /app COPY . . RUN pip install mkdocs mkdocs-material && mkdocs build FROM nginx as deploy # Copy the build to the nginx directory. COPY --from=builder /app/site/ /usr/share/nginx/html/ # Copy the nginx configuration to the nginx config directory. COPY default.conf /etc/nginx/conf.d/ EXPOSE 8080:8080/tcp

default.conf

server { listen 8080; root /usr/share/nginx/html/; index index.html; }

I thought that making videos will be easier that typing blog posts but to my surprise the difficulty is a bit higher. Fixing mistakes takes more time with videos and since I’m not that great of a presenter I struggle with presenting the content. Hopefully I will improve my skills with time and practice.

Thanks for reading! 🍻

Originally published at http://nuculabs.dev on October 16, 2021.

--

--

Denis
NucuLabs

Hey there, I'm Denis. I'm a software developer from Romania.