I Went Braless At Work This Week

Spoiler Alert: NOTHING HAPPENED

To be fair, I should mention that I work in the construction industry. I am the HR and Accounts Manger for a local fabrication company. There are two other females that work in my office, the rest of the staff is men between the ages of 19 and 65, with most being around their 30s. I wasn’t sure how this would go since I’m new to this whole free the tata’s thing.

I HATE bras. I really do. I’m on the small side, somewhere between an A and B cup and they sit wide on my chest. I’ve struggled for years to find anything even remotely comfortable to wear. Push up bras destroy my shoulders and leave nasty dents in my skin. Regular bras just gap at the top. Bralettes are fine sometimes, but most just don’t really fit right around my chest (too tight or they shift too much and leave rub marks). Sports bras have their place but not as a daily wear. So now what?

When I was still married to my ex, going braless was not an option. This stemmed from his need to control me and my body. For 13 years I was stuck in a cycle of abuse (see my previous posts about that fiasco) and it nearly destroyed me. Because of this, the idea of going braless was both terrifying and exciting. I decided to just say fuck it and try it.

I go braless when I am at home, so it isn’t totally foreign to me. But going out in public that way? How would I feel? Would anyone notice or stare? After doing some research, I decided to try a few things that I thought were good ideas.

The first, forth, and fifth days I wore a very tight cami under a looser T-shirt. This gave my girls some light support and an added layer for my *chilly* office (let’s crank the A/C, shall we?). It worked very well and I was much happier by the end of the day. No dents, no lines.

The second and third days I wore a tank top with a shelf-bra built in, and a lightweight shrug over that. One had a little bit of padding, the other did not. Both were comfortable but I did find the elastic digging in just a bit. Still far more comfortable than a traditional bra.

Overall, I’d say the tight cami option was best for me. The shelf-bra tank tops have their place if I don’t want to wear a shrug over the tank top. My next attempt at this will be trying a body suit. I saw a lot of women who use them braless if they are a thicker material or double lined. I haven’t worn a body suit before, unless you count dance practice when I was like 10.

Any others out there trying to free the tatas? Let me know in the comments how you’ve made it work for you.

--

--

Apryl N Lag (writer at Enduresurvivethrive.com)
Nude Positive

Abuse Survivor, Paralegal, Writer, Photographer and Dog Mom. Join me on my journey to find my purpose.