My Favorite Thing About Finland

It’s probably not what you think.

Taru Anniina Liikanen
Nude Positive

--

Photo by Jon Flobrant on Unsplash

So, Finland is the happiest country in the world, four years in a row. Amazing, right?

There are many things I love about Finland. The amazing social security, the rye bread and licorice, the midsummer nights when the sun comes up at 3 am, and Finnish people’s honesty. There’s lack of small talk and polite chitchat when you really want to be quiet. And the natural social distancing we’ve practiced since way before the pandemic.

I hate some things, too. The silence, the long winters, the cold weather, the way Finnish men, can’t talk about feelings without being wasted.

But there’s one strange thing Finland taught me that I really value, that I probably couldn’t have learned in any other place in the world.

It’s nudity. Or rather, a natural relationship with being naked.

It’s getting hot in here

I often joke about my nudity. A friend might make a comment about my skirt being too short or my cleavage being too pronounced, but I’ve noticed I don’t care all that much.

“My boobs are public domain at this point, everybody’s seen them so who even cares anymore?” I say. It’s pretty accurate for a joke, actually.

--

--

Taru Anniina Liikanen
Nude Positive

Stand-up comedian and recovering political ghostwriter. Finnish by birth, porteña at heart. Bad jokes frequent.