How Is Your New Year Resolution Going?

Segun fatokun
Nudging Whispers
Published in
4 min readJan 31, 2022

Hi there,

I thought to remind you of your new year resolution, in case you’ve forgotten. I wasn’t about to let this month end without stopping by at nudging whispers, aka NW.
Yes, I just sneaked in like I haven’t been away for months. I feel like a prodigal son. Can I get a welcome party?

What has been going on at your end?
Over here, the harmattan (our version of winter in Nigeria) is drying everything up, including my wallet. And I can’t wait for these 60 days of January to end. On the flip side, January has me thinking about resolutions. I started pondering my plans for the year.

But before we dive in, here are some questions I’ve been meaning to ask you.

Do you believe in creating new goals each year? Do they make any real impact, and how do you keep going, especially when your year is no longer going as planned? You can stop racking your brain, I already answered them below.

I feel a resolution is just a way of taking charge of my life. You feel a sense of responsibility when you craft one. For me, I don’t necessarily put them down, I usually self-evaluate and take mental notes.

The idea of a new year’s resolution has been overkilled. Most people just use it as a buzzword to get themselves pumped for a little while, only to go back to their default setting of not feeling motivated. Then, there are people who still throw around the tired phrase “New year, new me.” They are in the same group as those that wear all red outfits on Valentine’s Day.

Despite all these antics, I still feel goals keep us in line. It is a growth metric and shouldn’t be trivialized. I believe in creating achievable goals and their effect on turning our lives around for good.
You can’t be behaving badly every year and saying that is how I am. Or saying I have a hot temper, you will get used to me.

The impact of your resolution depends on your level of consistency and discipline.

Let me use myself as a bad example. Last year, I set out to improve my writing and started publishing on Medium. I delivered a few articles, got too comfy, and finally ghosted. I stopped showing up due to indiscipline and inconsistency.

Most of the time, I was waiting to be motivated. That never happened, and these words won’t write themselves. My mantra this year is to just get it done. In other words, “keep grinding, nobody cares.”

How do you keep going when you don’t feel like it and there is no atom of motivation?

To be honest, life can get tough. I hate to sound cliché, but growth comes from tough situations. My favorite quote by Roosevelt is, “Throughout life, there has never been a man who lived a life of ease whose name was worth remembering.”

I feel most successful people have just figured out how to be comfortable with being uncomfortable. Davido lost a couple of close friends, and he still has to figure out how to make you dance to Amapiano and do dorime.

Writing out those goals and seeing your dreams come through is one of the best feelings in life. Speaking of best feelings, I have this weird feeling that always makes my day. It is not credit alerts or getting party Jollof, for me, it is the warm, fuzzy feeling I get from picking my fresh clothes from the line. It best depicts starting a goal, doing the work, and getting your reward, all in one day. My watch stops here for today. But before I go, I’ll leave you with the quote below by Vusi Thembekwayo.

Winners don’t need motivation, winners need discipline.

Bless

--

--

Segun fatokun
Nudging Whispers

lawyer, budding writer, mental health advocate, truthfully I just started writing to get away