Meet Kate: IDEA’s Next Altschuler-Meyer CEO

Dyan Khor
IDEA: Northeastern’s Venture Accelerator
4 min readApr 7, 2017

As we wrap up the Spring Semester, IDEA’s current Altschuler-Meyer CEO, Neel Desai, will graduate and we welcome IDEA’s new Altschuler-Meyer CEO, Kate Murdock. A previous IDEA Investment Committee member, Kate also majors in Business with a concentration in Finance and a minor in Political Science. She will be taking the helm, leading the IDEA Management Team as her third co-op.

Current CEO, Neel Desai noted, “I was impressed by Kate’s experience, passion for the program, and leadership style. Her background in corporate finance and venture capital, combined with her extensive involvement in the venture community in Boston have prepared her to lead this team well. I am extremely confident in Kate’s ability to lead IDEA over the next year and we are all excited to see how the program grows under her leadership.”

We sat down with Kate to learn more about her, what she’s excited about, and her plans as CEO.

What are some of your favorite experiences you’ve had so far at Northeastern?

I had the unique opportunity to go to Geneva, Switzerland after my freshman year on a disarmament diplomacy dialogue to the United Nations. That same year, I worked at New England Venture Capital Association and was a partner at Dorm Room Fund (DRF), a venture fund that is supported by First Round Capital. DRF invests in startups across the country that are identified, analyzed and funded by students for students. I have also had incredible co-op experiences in two other states. At Hercules Capital, where I worked on due diligence for venture debt deals, I sourced my first deal which ultimately received $30M in venture debt. This semester I am working with SCOUT, our student-led design studio, which has been a phenomenal opportunity to work with incredibly talented people and learn about design. I have worked at professional organizations, but also had the opportunity to dance with No Limits Dance crew, study abroad in London, sing at hockey games, sit in phenomenal seminars, and work with inspiring community organizations. One of the best things about Northeastern is that it pushes you to go beyond the “college experience” and make more from it.

Why did you decide to get involved with IDEA?

I fell in love very early on with the entrepreneurial ecosystem in Boston and at Northeastern. I joined the Entrepreneurs Club my freshman year and the board during my second semester. It was my first taste of entrepreneurship and opened the door to internships at a startup in the Paypal start tank and at the New England Venture Capital Association. Bringing an IDEA to life (pun intended) and getting funding requires passion, persistence and an extremely well thought-out plan. I knew that I could learn a lot on the Investment Committee and hopefully make an impact on students building companies. So many students have ideas, but life, a job, or school work can all take precedence. I want to support and give them the tools to make those ideas a reality. The experience of building a company, even if it fails, is so valuable to both personal and professional growth. All the successes and failures ultimately feed the broader entrepreneurial ecosystem that fuels Boston and Northeastern.

What are your plans as CEO?

I am really excited to work on the 4th stage of IDEA, Invest. There is more that we can do to provide ventures with the education and network to secure their first round of funding. We want to close that gap with this new stage of IDEA, helping ventures make that critical first raise. In working with entrepreneurs from pre-seed through series C, I’ve realized that everyone can use help building financial statements, honing their pitch, and building their network. Beyond that, I will continue building out coaches training and a stronger recruiting system. We are in a great place to evaluate our processes and continue to grow.

What are you most excited about?

I am thrilled to be working with so many big thinkers. Northeastern is full of incredible people, but the amazing thing about working in these organizations is getting to work closely with smart and creative people. Students in IDEA are creating products that change lives, they’re employing students and eventually far more, and they’re growing and learning from the experience. This ecosystem is a whirlwind in the best way possible. IDEA embodies the hard work, experiential learning, and entrepreneurial mindset of Northeastern and I can’t wait to continue building this organization.

Where are you hoping to make the most impact?

My job is to give ventures the tools and guidance to create successful businesses. My hope is to see more students launch companies and receive early stage funding that will set them up for outside venture capital investment. I hope that the management team, coaches, and ventures each walk away feeling that they have grown in their time at IDEA. From a cross-organizational perspective, I want to continue building out resources for social ventures and student leaders as well as facilitate the collaboration across the entrepreneurial ecosystem.

--

--

Dyan Khor
IDEA: Northeastern’s Venture Accelerator

Growth @ Cash App. Traveler, feminist, home chef, the kind of person who asks before petting your dog.