DREAM

Numpang Menulis
Numpang Menulis
Published in
2 min readApr 20, 2021
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

That morning, five past to seven, I woke up with a big smile and furrowed brows. My heart beat so fast. Butterfly was flying around inside my belly. My knees were weak. I kept them straight before getting out of the bed. Stayed longer to muffle the noise in my gut. Time stopped for awhile. As if universe bowed to me. It gave me some time to take a deep inhale. Then long exhale, phewwww… released all the tensions. I was simmering down. The odd sensation was slowly fading away. It’s all back to normal. Heart worked as it’s used to.

I gulped water down. A lot of them. While pouring my coffee from the pot, I was stunned. By my dream. Been thinking I went crazy that day. Tried to breath and made my lung running again. What’s going on? I wondered to myself. My mind started wandering. Brought me back to the night before. I beamed and got an adrenaline rush for the second time.

The day was filled with beautiful memories. My step felt lighter. My eyes showed an appreciation. My heart was full. My thoughts were all rainbows and unicorns. I sipped my coffee again to keep me sane. Was I not? Smiling all day like a fool. Humming love songs while doing some works. Relentlessly admiring my look on the mirror. Fixing my hair and my lipstick. Wiping away the sweats on my face. Straighten my posture and my shirt. As it were someone would notice me. Noticing my appearance and demeanor at their best. Even appreciating my efforts of doing so.

Day started to end. Feeling was still there only got depleted. Reality distracted me. People awoke me. Sometimes life is funny when loneliness could turn into happiness. Minds afford creating pleasant things. And I wanted to be stuck in my solitude. Ignoring the world for a moment. Spoiling my soul with fantasies.

Dark awaited. While driving, I floating. Bewitched by flashes of memories. I was under spell. Till I heard someone honk the horn. Pulling me out from my reverie. Yet, I kept holding them still. Will they be gone when my day has done? I wanna preserve this, memory of my bliss. Though I know it will be missed.

Written by Makulutopis

--

--