Our Pledge to Do More

Nurx
Nurx
Published in
4 min readJun 3, 2020

A letter to the Nurx community from our CEO

In the midst of the uncertainty, upheaval, and tragedy, I know many of you are feeling overwhelmed and outraged by the senseless murder of George Floyd, Ahmaud Arbery, Breonna Taylor, and countless others.

While I can’t claim to have the answers, what I do know is that we must do better as a country and we must hold ourselves accountable. If we truly want to bring change, then we need to get uncomfortable and address all of the ways that racism leads to systemic oppression in our society. Police brutality is just one symptom of a larger virus that attacks the Black community’s safety and wellbeing.

At Nurx, we strongly believe that access to healthcare should be unconditional and is a fundamental right. At the same time, we recognize there are significant barriers that stand in the way of this vision. Health disparities are real and have persisted over time. Race and ethnicity can play a significant role in determining whether someone has health insurance, sees a primary care provider, can afford healthcare costs, and uses preventive services. We also recognize the unfortunate truth that unconscious bias in the healthcare system plays a role with these disparities, which can include prejudice and stereotyping from medical providers.

It is profoundly unjust that Black people make up nearly half of all people living with HIV in the US, and that Black women are 3–4 times more likely to die during or after childbirth than white women. As we’ve seen in recent months, COVID-19 has only magnified this inequity. Black people are experiencing a disproportionately high rate of infection, hospitalization, and death from the virus.

As a healthcare company built upon the notion that everyone deserves dignity and respect, we cannot remain silent when people are hurting. In addition to standing in solidarity with the Black community and those fighting against violence, racism, and systemic oppression, we are committed to doing our part and expanding our impact beyond Nurx.

One way we are using our voice and resources today is by donating $10,000 to the Black Women’s Health Imperative, a national nonprofit dedicated to improving the health and wellness of our country’s 21 million Black women and girls — physically, emotionally and financially. BWHI is focused on a number of initiatives, including advocating for policies that improve health outcomes for Black women and families, as well as amplifying the voices of Black women to shift public perception and policies for social change. We hope this financial donation is just one way that we can provide support to this organization and their efforts.

Over the last few days I have been reminded by one of our company values, We Are In This Together. As a company we are providing our employees with support services and creating safe spaces to encourage honest conversations about race. I have been inspired by their vulnerability and how they are each responding to this tragedy.

“I will continue to do my part on educating those around me, donating when I can, and stay knowledgeable on what’s happening. We cannot turn a blind eye, we have to support each other.” Lizbeth Castellon, Customer Care Agent

“I’m donating to my local Black Lives Matter chapter, writing to my elected officials at all levels about anti-racism, acknowledging my privilege, confronting my racist relatives, listening, reading, learning, asking what is needed and wanted. I feel angry and like a mother-bear. I plan to work on and manage my own emotions, since I am in a position of privilege, so I can be strong and helpful to my colleagues whom I can support.” — Dr. Julie Graves, Associate Director of Clinical Services

“I am donating, signing petitions, and using my social media platforms to share resources and information. Even if you aren’t able to protest in the streets, there are many ways to still contribute and support.” — Danielle Little, Operations Strategy Analyst

“I’ve reached out to all my friends letting them know how much I love, respect, and care for them. How I am standing with them and I want them also to know that not everyone is filled with such hate because the color of our skin is different. I know that none of my words can help with the pain that they must feel but I want them to know I am here for them and I will be here for them.” — Kristina Harrington, Recruiting Coordinator & Office Manager

To the Black members of the Nurx community, we will use our platform and resources to better demonstrate we are here for you. At the same time, we are keeping top of mind that short-term actions do not necessarily lead to long-term impact. To hold ourselves truly accountable, we are thinking more holistically about how we can actively address systemic oppression with our patients, employees, and broader community.

We demand change. We are in this together.

Varsha Rao, Nurx CEO

--

--

Nurx
Nurx
Editor for

We’re making healthcare more accessible and affordable for everyone. Get birth control, PrEP, at-home STI tests and more prescribed and delivered.