Lopez Tan
NUS Overseas Colleges New York
2 min readOct 25, 2017

--

I remembered the time when I was the only student that couldn’t secure a job to embark on this programme.(It’s a prerequisite that you need a company to hire you as an intern.)

I was demoralised and defeated. What made it worse was that I had to take a leave of absence for the next semester due to a unfortunate case of pure bad timing involving registration of modules. It’s not an automatic rollover when you are joining the next batch of candidates for this program.

You had to go for the final interview to be selected and try for another round of hiring cycle in the hopes of getting hired.

Shockingly, I was kicked out of the program for reasons being cited as “deemed unsuitable for the program.” By the stroke of luck, my appeal was successful.

I was also the last candidate to be placed when I joined the next batch of candidates.

Here are some of my lessons learned after the program:

Got kicked out of the overseas college program you aimed for?

(GOOD, more time to focus on other areas of your life)

Didn’t get the job?

(GOOD, more time to better myself for the next job opportunity)

Got hustled by a corporate company?

(GOOD, learned)

Got Fat?

(GOOD, It’s an opportunity for a lifestyle change)

Didn’t get funded for your start-up idea?

(GOOD, you own more equity for your company)

Couldn’t find a Co-founder?

(GOOD, more motivation and time to look for someone suitable)

Unexpected problems?

(GOOD, opportunity to figure out a solution)

Like all successful entrepreneurs, they always try to find some good in the worst situations.

I am no successful entrepreneur, I am not even an entrepreneur. However, I know that if I keep applying this mindset. Perhaps, some day I will reach my goal.

Never give up, never give in.

Never quit and get after it.

Special Thanks:

1. Jocko Willink concept of “Good”: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IdTMDpizis8

2. Grateful to NUS Overseas College for the incredible opportunity

3. My family for the support given

Stay Hard,

Lopez

--

--

Lopez Tan
NUS Overseas Colleges New York

Whether it is Entrepreneurship, Relationships or Skee-ball tournaments,Lopez is a eager student of the game of life & aspires to win his first WSOP Bracelet.