Taskeen Aman — NUSTIAN USA SPOTLIGHT SERIES

Saira Tabassum
NUSTIAN Spotlight Series
3 min readNov 11, 2021

Taskeen Aman is a final year (3L) Juris Doctor candidate at the University of New Hampshire, Franklin Pierce School of Law. She has a background in Applied Bioscience (BS) and Healthcare Biotechnology (MS) from NUST, Islamabad.

As a 2L summer associate, she worked as a Patent Prosecution and Trademarks Intern at the Ong’s Law Firm in Utah and concurrently worked at the Federal Circuit in Washington DC, contributing to the bar association’s weekly watchlist. With more than three years of wet bench experience in Molecular Immunology and Infectious Diseases, Taskeen brings a scientific and research perspective to the table.

Currently, she is working as a Patent Law extern with an Am 200 law firm, Arent Fox in New York. At the firm, Taskeen is enjoying gaining hands-on experience in patent prosecution and litigation, concentrating in life science and agricultural technology. She has also recently accepted a judicial clerkship externship at the US District Court for the District of New Jersey, where she will be spending her last semester of law school working exclusively on patent cases.

Taskeen hails from Paikhel in Mianwali, Pakistan. In this spotlight series interview, we have asked Taskeen questions related to her childhood, her career, and future goals.

Sit back and get inspired!

NUSTIAN USA: How do you connect your childhood to where you stand today professionally?

TASKEEN AMAN: I was fond of public speaking, debating, and participating in other extra-curricular activities throughout my childhood. I was a confident child, actively seizing opportunities that came my way. It was later in college/undergrad when I realized that although I was an ambivert, I did not see myself working as a researcher all my life and envisioned a bigger, more dynamic path.

None of my family/friends belonged to the field of law. The Pakistani notion about law is of a rather disreputable and corrupt profession. That’s essentially why when I pitched the idea of pursuing law to my family, it took a considerable amount of convincing.

NUSTIAN USA: What’s your take on law as a profession?

TASKEEN AMAN: Aside from the substance, law is fundamentally about effective writing and advocacy skills, analytical and logical thinking, excellent reading/listening comprehension, but most of all, it is about hard work and perseverance. It is also a perfect career for you if you are completely or mostly a “people person.”

Although I love what I am learning and can certainly see myself going forward as a patent attorney, Insha’Allah, I won’t stop challenging myself anytime soon.

NUSTIAN USA: Were there any major roadblocks in your way towards pursuing your ambitions?

TASKEEN AMAN: ​Haha! So many, I have lost count. I am a firm believer that true human potential only emerges when you know there is no going back. When you know there is nothing behind you that you can lean on to. My worst challenge since childhood has been surviving the obnoxious gender disparity. I come from a low-to-middle-class household, and all my life, I have had to witness disparate and discriminate treatment of the female members of my extended family by their male counterparts. While I was blessed with considerate and sensitive parents, Alhamdollilah, growing up in such a disturbing social structure truly grounded me and pushed me to work harder so I could bring change.

NUSTIAN USA: What are your near-future plans or long-term goals?

TASKEEN AMAN: ​The short-term goal is to pass the bar exam to become a certified US patent attorney. The long-term goal is to pay back to my community, which can range from collaborating with researchers/scientists of my alma mater (NUST) and other Pakistani institutions to improving the legal landscape of Pakistan.

In May of 2022, Taskeen plans to take the regional New York bar exam upon graduation and wants to practice as a patent attorney in the United States. We wish her the best for her future endeavors and invite anyone interested to get in touch with her regarding future opportunities!

--

--

Saira Tabassum
NUSTIAN Spotlight Series

I am a technical and proposals writer. Determined to craft meaningful words, I carve them with strokes of professionalism and correct grammar.