Implementation Intentions

Dawn Jackson Blatner
Nutrition WOW (Words of Wisdom)
2 min readJun 1, 2020

HAPPY JUNE 1st. ☀️
You’re enrolled in summer school! Teacher DJ Blatner in the house. I’m teaching you a new term that can improve any habit. Here we go….

new term:
IMPLEMENTATION INTENTIONS

Say it with me…
i m p l e m e n t a t i o n
i n t e n t i o n s.

👌 👌👌

New suggests this strategy can IMPROVE healthy behaviors.

CRASH COURSE BELOW👇
IMPLEMENTATION INTENTIONS
Definition: A detailed plan of how you are going to do something.

Why try it: Implementation intentions are more powerful than just simply trying to “get motivated.”

Why it works: Motivation is fickle and obstacles arise, so having a clear intention helps you take action… even when you don’t feel like it or something gets in your way.

HOW TO SET IMPLEMENTATION INTENTIONS:
It’s easy! Just fill in the blanks…

I will do ____________________ (habit) at ______________________ (time/day) in ________________________ (place).

If ______________________ (obstacle) happens, then I will do __________________ (alternate habit).

TWO OF MY IMPLEMENTATION INTENTIONS FOR JUNE:
✨I will go for a jog(habit) at 8am W/F/Sun (time/day) outside (place).
✨If it rains(obstacle), then I will do a 15 minute jump rope routine in my parking garage (alternate habit).

✨I will drink 16 ounces of water (habit) when I wake up everyday (time/day) in the kitchen (place).
✨If I don’t feel like drinking it(obstacle), I will drink hot or iced herbal tea (alternate habit).

Set an implementation intention for yourself starting TODAY to kick off a healthy new month & beyond. 💫

Originally published at https://www.dawnjacksonblatner.com on June 1, 2020.

--

--