Love Of My Life

Agisni Maharani
Nyarita
Published in
3 min readAug 6, 2024
image from pinterest

As an Asian, Ido have a special relationship with my parents. It’s like a hate-love relationship I guess. I love them but at the same time I hate them because sometimes they annoyed me with all the strict rules. I don’t want to be a daughter of disobedience by talking about everything I don’t like in them, so right now I just wanna talk about how they become the parents I like.

First of all, I introduce you to my father, the leader of my family. He’s a kinda funny dad with a thousand jokes (although sometimes it sounds cringe). I like him because he always has a topic, and idea to make a funny story or just tease his children. I like it when he tells me about various life advices, especially religious stories. Although he is the type of father who is harsh when his daughter comes home late, he is always sweet when he stays up all night waiting for his daughter to come home. My mom told me that when I was a child, I always cried and held my father when he was going to work. It could show how much I love him. I also often wait for him to come home from work because he never comes home empty-handed, there is always food he brings and what I like the most is the sweet martabak with chocolate and cheese springled.

He said, “Find and marry a man who can teach and lead you to the right Islam, not a man who is still learning. Because if he is still learning, who will teach you?”

And now I’ll introduce you to my mom, the love of my life. Like other Asian mothers, my mom is also chatty and has a lot of rules in the house. She’s also very prestigious in expressing affection and love to her children. She never apologized with a speech (except during Eid Fitr), but rather by giving some food. What I love most about her is that she always has a way of showing that everything will be fine. When I needed to be listened to, She was there all ears to my problems, and reassured me that everything was okay and everything would be okay. She always tried everything for me and gave everything she could for me. I couldn’t find the right sentence to show how beautiful and warm she is. All I know is that I always feel safe with her and that is something I have never encountered in anyone in this world.

She said, “Always listen to your heart, she is always honest. Everything in this world will always have a solution, draw close to Allah and He will give you all the answers to everything you want and solve all your problems.”

All humans certainly have problems, but I realize that whatever the problem is, I will still be fine when I still see the smiles of my parents.💕

— See ya later👋

--

--