Oracle Internship Interview Experience (On-Campus)

Geekhaven Technical Society
Nybles
Published in
4 min readJun 8, 2023

Introduction

Hello everyone, I am Aditya Verma from Indian Institute of Information Technology, Allahabad. I would be sharing my interview experience at Oracle in this article.

About Company 🏦

Oracle is a cloud technology company that provides organizations around the world with computing infrastructure and software to help them innovate, unlock efficiencies and become more effective. Oracle created the world’s first — and only — autonomous database to help organize and secure our customers’ data. Many famous companies like Zoom, Deutsche Bank use oracle’s Cloud Infrastructure.

Oracle came to our college with the following job description-

Job Profile: Summer Intern

Role: Server Technology

Eligibility Criteria: 7+ CGPA (All branches 2024 batch)

Preparation Phase: 👨‍💻

I started coding practice 3–4 months before the intern season. Interviewbit is really a good resource for practicing interview-related questions. It has a limited set of questions as compared to Leetcode, but the quality level of questions is pretty good plus you get to solve questions topic-wise. Make sure to try all questions twice if you refer to this site. It is recommended to know about Java and SQL in depth before the coding interview of Oracle. So I revised some Java and OOPs concepts before the interview. I referred GFG for subjects (OS, DBMS, OOPs and Puzzles).

Recruitment Process:

The selection process consisted of:

  1. Online Coding Round (DSA and CS Fundamentals MCQ’s)
  2. Technical Round 1
  3. Technical Round 2
  4. HR and Networking Round

Online Coding Round

Oracle started the hiring process with an online coding round with time limit of 90 minutes. The test consisted of 30 questions, which were divided into the following sections.

  1. 2 DSA questions (Medium to Hard Difficulty)
  2. 1 API based question
  3. MCQs: DSA and subject based (OS, DBMS and OOPs)

Candidates who scored well on the test were invited to interview for a position at Oracle.

Tip: I recommend practicing SQL on Interviewbit and concentrate on OS and DBMS fundamentals for getting the MCQ’s correct.

Coding Interviews: 👨‍💼

Technical Round 1

The interview began with a friendly introduction from the interviewer. After the introduction, the interviewer asked a DSA question on the topic of Linked Lists (link to the question) and its follow-up. I was asked to code the solution on Notepad. Following that, he asked me about the projects I had mentioned in my resume.

The interview lasted for around 30 minutes.

Technical Round 2

The round started with a brief introduction and then escalated to a coding problem related to Dijkstra’s Algorithm. The question was some variation of finding the shortest path to reach the destination city from a given source city. I solved the question using the Priority Queue data structure in C++. Then he asked me about the theory behind heap sort.

The interviewer asked me about the intern I had done in my 2nd year. He asked me about the technologies I used there and how the database could be scaled for high-performance. The interviewer was impressed with my knowledge and experience.

This round lasted for around 45 minutes.

Tip: It’s always recommended to take a look at the past interview experiences whenever you go for a company. Try following up and solving the questions mentioned in these blogs.

HR and Networking Round

This round was mostly a rapid-fire round so it’s better to prepare for all the standard questions in advance. Many questions revolved around my positions of responsibility I had mentioned in my resume along with a lot of behavioral questions. Their major objective with this was to check if the candidate can work in a team. The interviewer was impressed by my intern and wanted to know more about how I worked with others. It is important to be prepared for this round by researching the company and its principles, and highlighting how your skills and experience align with the company’s values.

Tip: Be confident in whatever you say and never panic! Remember that if you do not show how good you are at the skills you know, no one will ever be able to know about the same and this might just cost you a lot.

Results

Shortly after the interview process, the results with the names of all the selected students came in. I was selected for the position at Oracle 😄.

“Don’t give up. There will be setbacks along the way, but don’t let that discourage you. Keep working hard and never give up on your goals.”- Bill Gates

I hope, this blog has helped you. Thank you for reading! connect with me on Linkedin and Twitter.

--

--