Sometimes life is better without technology. Photo: Luis Suarez

Staying away from digital tech is essential to understand it better.

Luis Suarez
NYC Design
Published in
4 min readOct 5, 2018

--

About two years ago after a trip to Amsterdam, I made a decision that changed the way I appreciate life, it gave me the chance to engage more with people, help with my anxiety and keeps me at times away from screens and the digital world.

Being away from screens for short periods of time initially and eventually as long as four hours, gave me a new perspective on the digital and tech industry, specifically in the way that human beings interact with technology.

Just as isn’t the same playing in a soccer game that looking at it from the bench, I started to pay attention to how people interacted with their devices:

  • How long they spent on micro-moments.
  • In what mental state they were when on the device.
  • At what point in their daily routine they turned to their phone.
  • How the social scenario looked while they were immersed in the digital world.

Even at the cinema during the wait for the movie to start, instead of looking at my screen like everyone else, I found myself peeking over the shoulder of my front row neighbour and studying how he used his device, how long took him to complete an action and what apps he used the most at that point in time.

I started to go out without my cell phone (now I believe is crazy that it sounds crazy). I carry around a notepad, a pen and my Kodak Brownie camera, so instead of checking a digital feed while waiting for lunch, I have meaningful conversations with my friends and family. When by myself, I keep on writing new ideas or continue sketching that experimental design process I’m working on, sometimes I just stop and capture that picture I’ve been thinking about.

If you are still reading, by now you may be wondering: What happened in Amsterdam? Nope, it wasn’t weed or mushrooms, the answer might surprise you:

I got to experience what I believe is the vehicle of the future, the good old bicycle.

What I got to live surprised me:

  • Everyone seemed relaxed and enjoying their day.
  • No traffic jams or road rage on sight.
  • Cleanest air I’ve breathed in a city.
  • A metropolis is so quiet you get to hear the birds singing again.

After seeing something that I initially thought was not possible or just a distant dream in the future, I sold my car and took the decision that changed utterly my entire life, I would transport myself on a bicycle.

I have to be honest and say that along with that decision I had to face plenty of challenges:

  • Be prepared for day and night time riding (being visible at all times).
  • Plan my trips and schedule enough time so you don't have to rush, plus the occasional emergency stop.
  • Keep an eye on the weather and again, be prepared, different weather means waterproof clothes and mudguards.

All this seems like a lot, but trust me, it just happens naturally once you start doing it.

Remember when you were a careless ten year old kid riding a bicycle with your friends? Remember that feeling of absolute freedom as you felt the wind in your hair and the smile it put on your face?. Well, let me tell you something, as an adult that feeling is much better because adulthood comes with responsibilities and extra cognitive load and riding just takes all that away.

Should I mention as well that my levels of energy increased? I’m ready to go anytime. My focus, determination, memory and learning capabilities have improved dramatically, plus I got to buy an old bike and customized it to have a unique ride.

The list of benefits just keeps on going, and you can find more about them by doing a simple google search.

In the end, the most significant lesson cycling has taught me:

Staying away from digital technology is essential, we can understand it better and use it for our advantage instead of just letting it consume our time.

--

--

Luis Suarez
NYC Design

Product Designer- Documentary photographer - UX strategist - Innovator