It Just Is

Raghav
NYC Design
Published in
2 min readMar 26, 2019

I’m sure most of you love the view of sunset/sunrise at the beach But, I for one love to observe the waves, they’re relentless, their eager to reach shore. Ironically I’m the guy who long ago said “what is there to look at the sea? Just water comes and goes.”

It was Sunday again, and I was at my favorite beach. As I was strolling down the beach, something caught my eye. A group of kids making something in the sand, I approached them obtained their permission and took a pic.

I asked the kids, what are you doing? Is that a castle?
Kids said no.
Next, I asked so is it a mountain?
Kids said no.
Is it some sort of cave with the sea one side (in my head, it kinda looked like mount justice.)?
Once more the kids said no.

Now I got a little bit perplexed, here I’m a Ux & UI professional who’s drawn to art ever since he was their age. Who pride himself understanding people and art but, couldn’t capture what they are imagining!!

So I asked again, What is it then?
Without even looking at me, the oldest kid in the group said
It’s nothing. We are simply doing it.

And right there these little kids gave me back my lost perspective, I was once like that, designing/drawing something for just for sheer joy of it. When my back wasn’t against the wall because of deadlines and budgets. The time before the logic invaded my mind. In an effort to become more efficient, I moved to analytical data-driven designs, in an effort to reduce the budget I started producing things which are easier for developers.

Designing with strong intention, making things easy for both users and developers became my primary goal, visual appeal strictly became an afterthought. Logic took the wheel, creativity moved to back seat or some time moved to trunk.

I’m not saying those things are bad, creative or not ultimately UX & UI design is meant to empower the business. And this is the path we chose but once in a while give creativity the wheel see where it takes you. Never forget your roots.

Some times a design means nothing, It just is

And I thank these lovely kids for reminding me this.

--

--