Oops, Apple Did It Again…

Haley McRae
NYC Design
Published in
6 min readAug 9, 2018

They played with our hearts, and brought some new game.

Photo: https://bit.ly/2vA1NCs

The screen protector of my iPhone 6s Plus had finally gotten dirty enough that I had to take it off; and I just so happened to be taking my dog out for a stroll when he saw a squirrel, pulled on the leash, and caused me to drop my phone. CRACK! It was face-down on the ground, but I could already tell after three years of keeping it in pristine condition, today was the end. I picked it up and, as expected, it looked like someone had dropped a brick on the screen. Multicolored lines covered the apps and when I tried to touch the screen, it reacted just like sunburned skin would react to the touch- a puddle of white, imprinted by the fingertip, dissolving slowly and returning back to normal color. I went back inside to figure out what time the Apple store closed and then looked at my watch to check the time. Ah-ha! My apple watch; it was the solution to the not-so-immediate problem (not sending and receiving texts for an unknown amount of time). I quickly pulled up my texts on the watch and scribbled a message to my friend: “My phone has officially broken, I’ll be late for dinner.”

Apple Watch- a tool I use daily in attempts to keep my weight down by tracking every step I take throughout my day. Apple Watches have taken over the world of technology-driven fitness gurus, an expanding subcategory of the millennial generation. They are filling in the empty gaps, the phone-less hours of people’s lives as if we didn’t spend enough time with our electronics already. But Apple managed to strike again, with innovation and beauty.

I think it’s time to break down the true success of yet another Apple product. First, we will start with how easy it is to understand the Apple Watch. This is called it’s “Learnability.” Since the average person most-likely has a smartphone filled with app icons, Apple decided to simply compile these into a honeycomb-shaped grid on the watch. As with the smartphones, users simply touch the icon they want to open. To zoom into any part of the honeycomb structure, users can turn the knob on the side of the watch clockwise and then counterclockwise to zoom out- a learnability component called “mapping.”

Gif: http://gph.is/2bbJtrv

Once in an app, consistent dark backgrounds accompanied by lighter, contrasting boxes help users to understand which areas are tap-friendly. Constraints also make the user aware of the on/off settings for features such as airplane mode or Bluetooth. Green implies on or active and grey implies off or inactive.

Photo: https://bit.ly/2Mxw9Mw

Efficiency is another factor that comes into play for the success of the Apple Watch. Now that texting while driving is either illegal or dangerous (don’t do it, people!), Apple watch is a great way to follow directions on Maps, while keeping both hands safely on the wheel. It simply vibrates when you need to take your next turn. Users can choose to have the watch make distinct sounds, one that is for left turns and one that is for right turns. The vibrations, or haptics, also vary in speeds to decipher between left and right turns. The haptics feedback comes in handy for other features, too, such as when you are receiving a phone call, which may not be heard because it’s in the other room, in your purse, or simply on silent mode. I have found this especially helpful when I’ve been in class, meetings, or a movie and am expecting an important call. The efficiency of Apple Watches doesn’t stop there, as it can be used to flip through the slides of a big presentation you are giving, too. Any other app on your phone that may take a long series of unlocking, clicking and re-locking to use, can be simplified down to a simple voice command or a few quick taps on the Apple Watch, making all of your electronic tasks a heck of a lot more efficient.

Gif: https://bit.ly/2AXkm8R

Good digital products have some form of memorability to the user. On most devices these days, Settings is a feature the user can go to in order to change Bluetooth, do not disturb, airplane mode, sounds, etc. The Apple Watch includes the Settings icon on the app screen. Another feature that users remember well is the home button. On older versions of the iPhone, this is the only round button on the face of the phone. On the iPhone X, users remember this feature as the quick slide up from the bottom of the screen. Both versions always take users back to the page of apps. Apple Watch incorporates this home button on the side of the watch. My watch face displays an analog clock, but when I press the side button, it takes me to the honeycomb grid of apps. And when I press it again, it takes me back to my analog clock screen. This simple feature lessens the confusion with the navigation of the watch and enhances the ease of use.

Errors are an important component to consider when creating a digital product. Luckily, the Apple Watch avoids many of those errors by syncing with your iPhone. Log-ins are made through your phone, so dealing with an incorrect password or username can be handled on a bigger screen with more detail. When attempting to use Apple Pay without previously having set it up, the watch displays a message that directs you to exactly where on your iPhone you should go to set it up. Another error message on the watch is for battery. When the battery on your watch gets low, an alert is displayed on the screen with an option to turn on Power Reserve mode.

Photo: https://bit.ly/2ATdlkN

Behind all the useful and usable components of a product, some level of user-satisfaction must exist- something that makes a product desirable and unique from its competitors. Well, Apple Watch handles that just fine in this fit-crazed, productivity-frenzied environment. Not only does my watch count every step I take, but it also reminds me to stand up when I’ve been sitting on my (insert word here) for too long. In some shape or form, I consider that motivation. And let’s not forget the overall appeal of a glossy and sleek-looking computer on your wrist, with customizable bands and sizes for everyone. It proves you’re stylish AND tech-savvy, two of the most prized possessions of the advanced millennial. Well, Apple certainly managed to tap into all Usability Heuristics with the Apple Watch- Learnability, Efficiency, Memorability, Errors, and Satisfaction. Well done, Apple, well done.

Gif: http://www.ericcwilder.com/watch/

--

--