User Study: Stepping Out of Comfort Zone

Creating Design solutions for users in Rural India (Google’s Next Billion Users?)

Abha Pandey
NYC Design
3 min readJul 10, 2018

--

Logo and art is not my work

Whenever we think of startups we imagine AI and projected keyboards, we tend to forget that startups are as cool as they come. New ideas that help users in any way is a startup. One such really cool startup is Greenday-Kisan ki Dukan. This is one of the startups recognized under “#StartupIndia”. With roots back in IIM A and branches in villages of Uttar Pradesh this startup is making it easier for rural farmers to buy farming equipment and raw materials.

Being a big gardening enthusiast, and a freelance graphic designer, it was no-questions-asked-pick-up the project for me. I just did not think it will be difficult at all.

The Problem Statement

Urban and rural populace of India has a varied exposure to screen time.

What I did not anticipate was the difference in the demographics of the users. I am used to designing products for urban screen-friendly users. I am used to designing everything clean, simple, and minimalist. I am used to creating graphics and UI for users who are bored of loud visuals on their face, users who are so into the screen whole day they want everything to calm down.

What came up with the new demographics was the need of loud graphics, and need to grab attention by using forbidden color combinations. I combined bright yellow with algae green (and a little red. I know, forbidden!)

The forbidden texts, right here.

The Solution

The client is lovely enough to share the pictures of print with me

Once the problem became clear to me, the solution was simple. Go back 10 years, and look at the print media. Take inspiration from newspaper advertisements, and highlight all catchy items accordingly.

I went with a combination of simple graphics with as-needed amount of flashy objects.

Combining icons with colorful loud colors to bring out the focal points in the stationery items.

The Result

The best part about stepping out of your comfort zone is seeing (un)expected results.

Real life Indian farmers looking at the stationery items designed by me. Best sight ever!

My motive behind writing these articles in such detail is to bring awareness around the graphic design field. Graphic design is not just about drawing pretty pictures; it is about understanding the needs and creating solutions that can be used by masses.

If you agree with my thoughts, and liked my working process, please let me know by clapping for this article.

Contact me for personalized stationery, and UX projects: bit.ly/contactabha

--

--