UX Challenge: Design a Bluetooth Box to Cure Our Smartphone Addiction

Vikrant Ramteke
NYC Design
Published in
1 min readOct 2, 2018

Preface

When I reach home, I often catch myself unnecessarily glued to my smartphone/tablet. These devices have become an indispensable part of my daily life. Instead of me controlling them, they control me. And the sad part is, it’s not just me, but it has become a story of every household. I wish I could go back to the landline phones and use them only when I need to make calls or receive calls. The landline phones introduced considerable friction in making and taking calls. If we could bring that friction back to our smartphones, probably we wouldn’t be glued so much to them.

Problem

We are excessively glued to our smartphones.

UX Challenge

Design a box that looks like an old landline phone, but has sections into it in which up to four smartphones can be inserted. The smartphones are connected to the box using Bluetooth, and the box is capable of making/receiving phone calls. What would be the UX for

  • Setting up the box
  • Pairing up to 4 smartphones
  • Receiving calls
  • Making calls.

[Image Credit: http://www.imarketcity.com/paam19anvite.html]

Post your replies here: https://app.dailyuxchallenge.com/t/ux-challenge-design-a-bluetooth-box-to-cure-our-smartphone-addiction/190

--

--

Vikrant Ramteke
NYC Design

Growth @Amazon, Co-Founder @Totspot.me (Acq by Poshmark)