Why we chose Xamarin as our cross-platform mobile development tool…

Khosrou
NYC Design
Published in
2 min readMar 12, 2018
Photo by Henri Picot Unsplash

When we started Musjroom we knew nothing about developing and designing a mobile application. We just believed in our concept and wanted to do something about it.

We started to learn the fundamentals of building a product, but we still had trouble building the platform so we sought out help. I wanted to create a simple beta version of our product so I outsourced the development and it proved to be a terrible mistake. I lost all of my investment on someone who did not care about our product. I learned my lesson about outsourcing and will never risk doing that with the core-business again.

With this, we were forced back to the drawing board. We still believed in our product, and had quite a few potential users depending on us. We needed to start from scratch. I met someone who seemed really hyped about our start up, and convinced me that he could build our app on React Native. So once again, I put my faith in him, and unfortunately after about a month he left us and put our development on hold. It was extremely frustrating, but I knew better then to give up.

Eventually, I embraced this as a learning opportunity and got back to work. One of our guys knew how to write code in C# and I began researching how you could build native apps for multiple platforms on a shared codebase, with Xamarin and Xamarin forms. We jumped into this headfirst because I was not ready to drop this concept.

“Sometimes life hits you in the head With a brick. Don’t lose faith.” — Steve Jobs

So the answer to the question about why we chose this cross-platform technology, is because we simply had no choice and we decided it was the right path to pursue at the time. I am very happy with our decision, because now we are getting closer to our product’s release.

--

--

Khosrou
NYC Design

Co-founder zineps.com | entrepreneurship | books | piano | tech