Join us in Welcoming NYC Opportunity’s New Fellows

NYC Opportunity
NYC Opportunity
Published in
7 min readJul 3, 2024

The Mayor’s Office for Economic Opportunity (NYC Opportunity) is pleased to introduce the newest Fellows working on our Programs and Evaluation and Product teams. In the following Q & A’s, they tell us a little bit about themselves and what drew them to this work.

Chelsea Jackson

What brought you to NYC Opportunity, and to this work?

I’ve always been passionate about public service and how policy can improve outcomes for marginalized communities. As a native New Yorker, I was drawn to NYCO given their work in using evidence-based approaches and innovation to reduce poverty and increase equity in the city. This fellowship felt like a great opportunity to directly inform policy development and program design to better serve those in need.

What were you doing before this? If you’re currently in school, what are you studying?

Right now, I’m earning a Master of Public Administration at NYU Wagner Graduate School of Public Service, specializing in Public Policy Analysis. Prior to starting graduate school, I was a youth development, criminal justice, and employment policy researcher at MDRC, a social policy research organization. Before that, I worked on a political campaign for the New York State Assembly doing policy research and fundraising support.

What team will you be working with and how will you be spending your time with them?

I’m excited to work with the Programs and Evaluation (P&E) team at NYCO to help agencies design and implement effective programs that serve New Yorkers. To start off, I’ll be providing research support for a few of their workforce development and maternal/infant health programs.

What are your goals for your time as a Fellow?

I’m hoping to gain a deeper understanding of program design and implementation within city government. Ultimately, my goal is to learn as much as I can and do my part in making NYC a more equitable place to live.

What do you like to do outside of work / what is something we may not know about you?

I love to travel and explore new restaurants and museums around New York City! From time to time, I also like to draw and paint in either oil or acrylic mediums.

Michelle Le

What brought you to NYC Opportunity, and to this work?

I was connected to NYC Opportunity through the Coding it Forward (CIF) Fellowship. Before CIF and NYCO, I didn’t know much about civic tech as it’s not the typical career path for computer science majors like me. I was curious to understand how digital product development functioned within the government. I wanted to better understand how digital services could be improved so that they were more equitable, easier to use, and more accurately reflected the needs of those they served. Working at NYCO gives me the opportunity to explore City technologies and create technical solutions for the public sector.

What were you doing before this? If you’re currently in school, what are you studying?

I’m currently a rising senior at Connecticut College studying Computer Science and Economics. Since last summer, I’ve been doing research with my professor on the application of computer science in the voting and politics field, which has grown my interest in tech for social impact. Thus, having the chance to actually work hands-on with tech development in this space at NYCO is incredibly exciting for me!

What team will you be working with and how will you be spending your time with them?

I’m a part of the Product Team, specifically in the Workforce Data Portal (WDP) project. The WDP uses integrated data to explore outcomes and insights related to the City’s workforce development system. It’s a key component of a data system that collects, integrates, and visualizes data to provide policymakers, workforce practitioners, and advocates a more complete picture of workforce development activities funded by the City. I’ll be primarily working on the redesign of the WDP website.

What are your goals for your time as a fellow?

I aim to gain a deeper understanding of how technology can be leveraged to create impactful public services. I want to enhance my skills in full-stack development, particularly in areas that intersect with public policy and community needs. Additionally, I hope to contribute meaningful improvements to the WDP website that will make a lasting difference for its users.

What do you like to do outside of work / what is something we may not know about you?

I love watching cooking shows and experimenting with dishes from different countries. My current favorite is italian-japanese fusion cuisine as both share an emphasis on umami flavor profiles, attention to detail, and a simple yet delicate aesthetic. I’m also very into playing poker — poker night has been my go-to activity every weekend. It teaches me strategic thinking, risk assessment and the mindset that I should only focus on things that I can control.

Daniel Iqbal

What brought you to NYC Opportunity, and to this work?

I come from a background of working in political offices, with a focus on drafting legislation. I have always been curious about how the government executes this legislation and turns it into programs, and about evaluating the effectiveness of the original plan of action. My interest in working with community-driven program data to solve socio economic problems in New York City is what makes working in this office extremely exciting.

What were you doing before this? If you’re currently in school, what are you studying?

Before this summer I finished my freshman year at Macaulay Honors. I am studying Finance and Law and expect to graduate in 2027.

What are your goals for your time as a fellow?

The dynamic nature of the office allows me to be ambitious about my goals for my time as a fellow. I hope to connect with every team member and get a sense of how this office operates in tandem with the social organizations of this city and more importantly how it improves these programs for the benefit of their participants. I hope to gain a sense of the program evaluation process, and how ideas for new programs are brought to fruition by the NYC Opportunity staff.

What do you like to do outside of work / what is something we may not know about you?

When I am not in school or in the office, I am an avid saltwater fisherman. I fish all over New York City and Long Island. I find that fishing produces a sense of reflection and serenity but also intense moments of excitement which makes a dull moment on the water nearly impossible. Commonly known as “Anglers,” the fishing community of New York are some of the most kind individuals always looking to help a newcomer. So I encourage anyone who is interested in this pastime to just get out there and give fishing a try!

Audrey Chou

What brought you to NYC Opportunity, and to this work?

I have been actively involved in community organizing and equity work since my sophomore year of high school. These experiences defined my formative years and reinforced my commitment to driving positive impact in my community, however that may look. A love for design also shaped my formative years, and the NYCO product team represents a unique opportunity at the intersection of my two passions! I was lucky enough to be matched to this office through Coding it Forward, a civic tech fellowship.

What were you doing before this? If you’re currently in school, what are you studying?

I’m a rising junior studying Sociology and Computer Science at Brown University. I’m particularly passionate about urban sociology, exploring how social and spatial contexts shape opportunities and produce inequalities. I’m also on the design pathway for my CS major, exploring UX/UI and Human-Computer Interaction.

What team will you be working with and how will you be spending your time with them?

As part of the Product team this summer, I’ll be working on designs for the Workforce Data Portal. My focus will be on updating the site, doing a complete redesign of all pages. I’ll also be conducting user testing on my prototypes and other pages.

What are your goals for your time as a fellow?

My biggest goal is to meaningfully contribute to a project that will have a tangible, positive impact on people! Making data more accessible is an integral part of any changemaking effort, so I’m looking forward to redesigning pages with accessibility in mind. I’m also excited to generally learn how to design digital products within a government context, exploring the world of civic tech and what opportunities for innovation exist.

What do you like to do outside of work / what is something we may not know about you?

A fun fact is that I’m fluent in Wenzhounese, which is also known as the “Devil’s Language” because it’s one of the least comprehensible dialects in China. I also love crocheting, do the NYT mini crossword religiously, and am currently in the process of training for a half marathon.

--

--