Meet NYC Opportunity’s Ladders for Leaders Summer Interns!

NYC Opportunity
NYC Opportunity
Published in
3 min readJul 15, 2022

Ladders for Leaders is a component of NYC’s Summer Youth Employment Program, the nation’s largest summer jobs program. Ladders for Leaders is a nationally recognized program that offers outstanding high school and college students the opportunity to participate in paid professional summer internships with leading corporations, non-profit organizations and government agencies in New York City.

NYC Opportunity’s is happy to welcome the newest summer Ladder to Leaders interns: Khailyn Waite and Zhaobin Tan. Here is a little bit about them.

Meet Our Finance and Administration Intern: Khailyn Waite

Q: What brought you to NYC Opportunity, and to this work?

As someone who has always been interested in opportunities that allow me to serve and help others, I was excited to join the NYC Opportunity team and work on issues of poverty and equity.

Q: What were you doing before this? If you’re currently in school, what are you studying?

I am a junior majoring in Business Administration with a concentration in finance at The University at Buffalo.

Q: What team will you be working with and how will you be spending your time with them?

I will be working with the strategy and operations team to perform various administrative, budgeting and contracting tasks. I will also assist in office-wide learning events and projects.

Q: What are your goals for your time as a fellow?

My goals are to learn more about the day-to-day operations of city government, create meaningful relationships with the team, and gain relevant work experience.

Q: What do you like to do outside of work / what is something we may not know about you?

I enjoy watching tv shows and movies. I have always been intrigued in the production process used in creating films and how that work is presented to the audience. I also like to play basketball

Meet Our Web Communication Intern: Zhaobin Tan

Q: What brought you to NYC Opportunity, and to this work?

Part of the reason why NYC Opportunity intrigues me is because of how the team here is able to serve New York City residents by developing effective technologies and products. Knowing that I want to venture into the field of engineering, I see this opportunity as an incredible stepping stone towards my future career goals.

Q: What were you doing before this? If you’re currently in school, what are you studying?

I am currently studying at University at Buffalo pursuing a bachelor’s degree in computer science.

Q: What team will you be working with and how will you be spending your time with them?

I will be working with the team of Strategy and Operations to update and manage content on NYC Opportunity’s external communication channels (website, recruiting website, medium and intranet), researching, drafting, creating, and updating NYC Opportunity’s social media posts, blog posts, newsletters, and generating digital assets.

Q: What are your goals for your time as a fellow?

My goals are to be able to learn how to present information effectively, and learning how to create and enhance complex websites and applications.

Q: What do you like to do outside of work / what is something we may not know about you?

Outside of work, I consider myself to be a gym enthusiast with an interest in cryptocurrency and NFTs. I am also an adventurer that likes to explore.

All of us at NYC Opportunity are greatly looking forward to working alongside Khailyn and Zhaobin this Summer!

--

--