New Programs and Evaluation Fellow

NYC Opportunity
NYC Opportunity
Published in
3 min readMar 1, 2024

The Mayor’s Office for Economic Opportunity (NYC Opportunity) is pleased to introduce Michael Guerrero, our 2024 Spring Programs and Evaluation (P&E) Team Fellow!

Tell us who you are, and why you’re excited to join the NYC Opportunity team as a P&E Fellow.

My name is Michael Guerrero, and I am excited to be joining the NYC Opportunity team as a Programs & Evaluation Fellow. I am deeply committed to using evidence-based approaches to empower marginalized communities, which is why I am eager to contribute to the impactful work being done here. As a first-generation student with an interest in policy and law, I am driven to explore innovative solutions at the Mayor’s Office for Economic Opportunity, with the goal of fostering greater equity across New York City.

What brought you to our team, and to this work?

As a senior at NYU specializing in psychology with a background in social and education policy, I’ve remained deeply committed to conducting research aimed at uplifting underrepresented communities. After connecting with Anne Hill, a Senior Research Associate at NYC Opportunity (who also started as a fellow on the P&E team), during a course lecture at my university, and later with Associate Director Jin Kim, I immediately became drawn to the work done at NYC Opportunity. Their mission, centered on reducing poverty and increasing equity through evidence and innovative methods, deeply resonates with my own goals and aspirations.

What were you doing before this?

Before my fellowship at NYC Opportunity, I was involved in various organizations and extracurricular activities at NYU. These included serving as an Alternate Senator at-Large for First-Generation and Latino students in the NYU Student Government Assembly, working as a Research Assistant at the Social Perception Action and Motivation Lab in the NYU Department of Psychology, and leading a first-generation mentorship program, Proud to Be First. Additionally, I gained experience as an intern in the Families & Children Department at the social policy research organization MDRC. I am also currently pursuing a B.A. in Psychology at NYU and, in the future, I hope to leverage my diverse academic and professional career to pursue law school with a focus in education law.

What are your goals for your time as a fellow?

My objectives are to collaborate with the Programs & Evaluation team to pioneer initiatives aimed at developing innovative systems for underprivileged communities in New York City. I aspire to support my colleagues in the analysis of program performance data and to play an integral role in designing and implementing strategies to advance equity through operational practices, budget decisions, and City social services. Overall, I hope to conduct innovative research and appraise efficiency metrics for poverty-related issues, while also assisting in the management evaluation of key mayoral initiatives and contributing to policies and systems projects.

What is something we may not know about you?

My family is originally from Mexico! My mother grew up in a small village in Veracruz, and my father is from Monterrey. It is my dream to one day visit the places they once called home, as that is something I have not had the chance to do yet. Also, I am the youngest of three, so I hope to visit with my brother and sister one day!

--

--