#NYCShopSmall — Interview with Cindy from Kustom Kreations.

Melissa D.
#NYCShopSmall
8 min readAug 7, 2018

--

#NYCShopSmall is about giving those small businesses a voice, in a different and special way.

Cindy decided to start making her own soaps, shampoos, and laundry detergent when her allergies to store-bought brands got out of control. She took matters into her own hands to educate herself and others on the ingredients, ways to make and store them, and most importantly improving quality of life. Thus Kustom Kreations was born. Read my review on her products below…

#NYCShopSmall: Tell me a little about what you do and the types of products you sell..

Cindy: I make homemade liquid, bar, and laundry soaps as well as candles, shower steamers, and bath bombs. Everything I make is from scratch.

My bestseller is the Turmeric Soap with the powder & oil. The Olive Oil is infused with Oranges and Black Cumin Oil which help the Turmeric with the healing process for your skin. I have Eucalyptus & Spearmint Essential Oil soap.

The Chamomile soap I have is infused with the flowers and Olive oil. Then I chop up the flowers, put it in the soap, and it smells amazing and looks great.

The Raspberry Apple Goats Milk soap is another big seller. I buy and use fresh apple cider from a farm up here.

I also make flea shampoo for dogs. I researched the essential oils that can be used on dogs for fleas. I actually saved a bottle of flea shampoo I bought in a store and I’ve had it for as long as the soap I made. I show people how the store-bought shampoo breaks down in the chemical compounds they use and mine is still the same as I first day made it.

I do that to educate people. It’s been a difficult market to keep people informed not to be fooled about businesses that claim to be natural.

#NYCSS: Do you have and display info on everything you use in your products?

Cindy: Yes, I make my own labels for all of my products and list the ingredients on the back of everything. I use card-stock for my labels and cut everything. I also make videos showing people parts of the process.

Even with homemade soaps and candles, people don’t realize the additives they put into those products, which is not good for you or the environment. A lot of folks make melt-and-pour soaps. They make it look all cute but don’t realize that it’s not natural.

#NYCSS: It’s important to educate people where you feel it’s needed.

Cindy: I’ve only been in business for three years. It’s a lot of research & learning. Moving Upstate, it’s so quiet so all I had was time to read and research.

#NYCSS: So how did you get into making your own products? What made you start selling them?

Cindy: Allergies to store products. I started out with essential oils for natural healing because I’m allergic to medication. I had surgery on my rotator cuff and didn’t take any pain meds.

#NYCSS: Wow that’s crazy, no pain meds after surgery. That’s tough.

Cindy: I read what others do. A lot of natural healing has worked amazing and I try everything I make.

#NYCSS: How long is the process to make the soap from start to finish?

Cindy: It takes about an hour for the total cook time, then I put the soap in the molds, put in the fridge for a couple of hours, unmold, and cut.

#NYCSS: You learned everything on your own?

Cindy: Yes I had a friend teach me the basics of soap making then the rest was reading and researching.

People who have problems like eczema and things like that, a lot has to do with your diet but there are chemicals, people don’t realize, that can cause irritation on the surface of your skin.

After a period of time people see the difference in their skin.

#NYCSS: Is there a difference in scent between bar soaps and liquid soaps you make?

Does one hold the scent better than the other?

Cindy: It’s more of a process. To get the clarity, depending on the oil I use, takes about four hours to cook. Since I don’t have to add it until last minute, the liquid will hold the citrus more if you want a lemon essential oil. One is made with Extra Virgin Olive Oil infused with Oranges. I also use Sunflower Oil and Coconut Oil, which is typically used for the lather.

#NYCSS: What’s the main reason you use different types of oils?

Cindy: How they feel. With the heavier oils I can mix some together to create a conditioning shampoo.

I have jars of Grape Seed Oil soap, which I looked up, is great for thinning hair.

I’ve learned a lot from people and what they really love the most is the infused oils. I’ve started to make scented oils along with natural essential oil body spray.

I’ve learned aluminum bottles are better to use for liquid soaps and body sprays because of the essential oils. They don’t eat at the aluminum. Glass is the best but sometimes people are clumsy, so I look for safety and practicality.

I just love everything I do and sharing with people.

#NYCSS: That’s great! You love what you do and I’m really glad you love talking about it too.

Why aluminum over plastic for liquid soaps?

Cindy: Plastic breaks down after a period of time.

The essential oils are potent enough to break down the plastic material, it would eventually destroy the oils. That’s why you see essential oils in Amber or Cobalt Blue bottles to prevent sunlight from entering in.

#NYCSS: Here I was thinking plastic is better since the the big companies use it but I guess that’s something consumers, like me, don’t think about.

Does the aluminum make the cost higher for you?

Cindy: Nope! I’ve looked up wholesale aluminum bottles it’s not that much of a difference in price.

#NYCSS: Did you have a major goal to meet when you started your business? What was it and how quickly did you meet it?

Cindy: I haven’t met my goal yet. I wanted to be able to have my own shop or be able to do larger events to get more of an online presence.

It’s taken this time to learn what people are looking for, what sells, and what doesn’t. It takes money to make money.

#NYCSS: It certainly does! What’s something you want to do in the next year, that you’ve never done before?

Cindy: Make a clear hard bar of soap. It’s a different process but it can be done. I’d also love to be able to make gifts for bridal and baby showers.

#NYCSS: That’s interesting. I look forward to seeing that.

What is the best and worst purchase/investment you made for your business? What did you learn from it?

Cindy: Specialty gel candles that I sell and sold out of last year. I looked up the drink and improvised on the colors. They smelt so good

It takes me about 4 hours to make because of the piping. The foam is soy wax so if it cools, it gets hard so then I have to melt the wax, cool it down, whip it, and then pipe it like cupcake frosting.

#NYCSS: Your candles are also natural with no harsh chemicals?

Cindy: There are no additives in them. They’re made with a vegetable gel and soybean wax..

#NYCSS: What are two things you consider yourself to be very good at?

Cindy: Candles & soaps. I love my soaps and I feel I have gotten great recipes for them. My candles are just so much fun to do as well. Especially the specialty ones but I don’t make a lot because it takes time to sell them.

#NYCSS: What technology innovation made the most impact on your life?

Cindy: The iPhone & iPad are the greatest and I use the Square reader at vending events.

#NYCSS: If you could pick up a new skill in an instant, what would it be?

Cindy: Crochet! I’d love to be able to make washcloths and different little things to wrap up the soaps as a gift.

As of right now I go to the fabric store and buy a certain fabric, cut it to size, and roll them. I researched the type of cotton to use so the soap breathes.

The way I wrap them, it keeps the scent in. I’ve tried Cello bags but the sometimes the soap sweat depending on the oils.

Everything done is with love!

#NYCSS: That’s good you love learning healthier alternatives. It’s not just a hobby for you. It’s like a lifestyle of learning and advancing.

What’s the most interesting thing you’ve read or seen this week?

Cindy: The most interesting to me was about CBD oils. I also read how the combination of Turmeric & Black Cumin Oil needs to be together in order to get the full benefits of the Turmeric healing properties.

#NYCSS: Are you using the CBD oils in the soaps as well or for a completely new product?

Cindy: I am going to try a small batch to see how it is but I’m going to definitely do bath bombs. I also sell the oils.

#NYCSS: Interesting! I wonder how those soaps are going to be..

You’re a new addition to the crayon box. What color would you be and why?

Cindy: A lavender neon green😊 I just love those 2 colors together it’s bright cheerful. It’s everything I wish I could be all the time I love bright & exciting colors.

#NYCSS: That’s an interesting combination!

Which of your products would you say is most like yourself?

Cindy: I love the honey oatmeal soap a little rough because of the oatmeal in it but the fresh honey is sweet and not too overpowering.

#NYCSS: What would be the ultimate gift for you to receive?

Cindy: It makes me happy knowing someone is enjoying my products & pampering themselves. What would be really great is to get a large order.

#NYCSS: I understand that!

Would you rather know the history of every object you touched or be able to talk to animals?

Cindy: I love History!

#NYCSS: Would you rather have a flying carpet or a car that can drive underwater?

Cindy: Car underwater.

#NYCSS: Would you rather wake up in the middle of an unknown desert or wake up in a row boat on an unknown body of water?

Cindy: In a boat.

#NYCSS: Last one…Would you rather travel the world for a year all expenses paid or have $50,000 to spend on whatever you want?

Cindy: Travel the world!

Follow Cindy and her Kustom Kreations on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter and her website!

My experience using Cindy’s products:

After speaking with Cindy and learning all about ingredients and her products, I just had to order some and they last a long time. I use the lavender 1oz sample bars to replace the hand soap we use in the bathroom and it’s lasted about 3 months. Still going strong!

They also leave my hands and body feeling soft and not dry, at all. They smell amazing and look good too! The coffee bar, which replaced my old body wash, has pieces of coffee beans inside and doubles as a great exfoliator/scrub.

Cindy recommended that I buy a wood soap dish to keep the bars from getting gross and make them last even longer!

I have a bunch of soaps left to try out, haven’t gotten to them yet since these lasted so long. She also has different bars for men, which I plan on trying in the future.

Thanks for reading! 👍😊

Follow #NYCShopSmall on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and LinkedIn for updates on the newest interviews with Small Businesses and to get yours featured!

--

--