MOS: Tourists at 30 Rock

Nicole Chiarella
NYU Journalistic Inquiry
3 min readSep 20, 2021

MOS #1:

Name: Nikki Gafford

Age: 31, 32 on Sunday

From: Dallas, Texas

– Nikki came to NYC after receiving a notification that she had received tickets to The Amber Ruffin Show

– On how she feels visiting NYC after this past year: “I’m a flight attendant. I wish people on the subway would wear their masks and everything but what are you gonna do?”

– On her job during the pandemic: “It got really stressful. I was off for a little while during Covid and then came back, and it’s worse than it was before just ’cause the stress of everything and people not cooperating. I mean, we’ve always had people not cooperating but this is just taking it to a whole other level with things.”

– On watching The Amber Ruffin Show: “I love her musical numbers so I hope she does musical numbers. I’m just excited to be here. I’ve followed her since Seth Meyers; I really like her show, and when she ventured off on her own, I thought it was really exciting.”

MOS #2

Name: Maggie Stotts

Age: 22

From: Minneapolis, Minnesota

– She’s visiting her friends and family (aunt lives in the city)

– “I’m from Minnesota, so it’s definitely a cultural change. I knew it was really bad here but the horror stories I heard from my aunt definitely left an uneasy feeling in my stomach. I’m vaccinated, which makes me feel better about myself walking around, but there are so many people here it still feels so busy to me, which kind of overwhelms me at times but I just have to do what I need to do.”

– Maggie was outside of 30 Rock, getting ready to watch The Tonight Show for the first time; very excited about watching Jennifer Aniston as the guest

MOS #3:

Name: Valeria Hutchinson

Age: 25

From: Richmond, Virginia

– Decided to visit NYC because she has family here

– On her feelings about visiting NYC after the past year: “A little nervous. But I’m vaccinated so I’m feeling a little more confident than I would’ve been last year.”

– Was very excited about seeing the city since it’s been a long time since she’s last been here

MOS #4:

Name: Danielle Fernandez

Age: 22

From: El Paso, Texas

– Visiting NYC to see her pregnant sister who lives here

– Feels “pretty good” about visiting NYC after this past year

– On the last time she visited her sister: “I came in June, but before that it was a couple of months.”

MOS #5:

Name: Tara Ceasario

Age: 31

From: Chicago, Illinois

– On why she decided to visit NYC now: “It was a cheap flight so me and my friend both love coming to New York so we just decided to come.”

– On how she feels visiting NYC after this past year: “Pretty good. I’m vaccinated so it doesn’t really bother me. I’ve traveled to a couple other places too before so it seems like a good time to come.”

– looking forward to going to bars since she wasn’t able to do that before; hopes to watch Chicago on Broadway (she saw Beetlejuice last time)

--

--