MOS: Tourists in Times Square (1)

Prisha Jain
NYU Journalistic Inquiry
1 min readSep 21, 2021

“The weed is great”

“I’m here to see my family, but it’s also nice to see the city again after seeing it so dead. The people are back, everyone’s back, and it’s really nice.”

-Jose Ristreppo, 28, Florida

“I feel safe. Back when we came first, they didn’t ask for our vaccination cards, but now they ask everywhere.”

“It’s cleaner, there’s a lot of opportunities to get vaccinated.”

-Andy Mendez, Guatemala, 16

“I like knowing that whenever I’m eating inside, the people around me are vaccinated”

“The only thing is, a lot of places are closed certain days and they haven’t updated their websites. I planned everything 2 months ago when things were open and we’ve gone twice to places that have just been closed”

-Brittany Rhines, Houston, 25

“I didn’t expect this many people to be out here, but this is the city that never sleeps.”

“I’m also shocked at how many people are out here without masks.”

-Rosslyn, North Carolina, 60

“The first time I came was in 2016, and a few of the shops have changed, and one of my favorite places was Del Monaco and it closed down. A few of my favorite restaurants closed down.”

“I love the Brooklyn Bridge, it’s my favorite spot in the city.”

-Anu Pul, Kolkata, 20

--

--