In a Relationship with Change

O design
Odesign Magazine
Published in
3 min readJul 15, 2019

Look at the sky and try remembering how it looked yesterday. We see a different sky every day and that change in view gives us joy. Life to me is like the sky, vast and ever-changing. With my mind racing from one idea to another it has always been a challenge to settle.

They say curiosity kills the cat, I say curiosity frees the cat. My innate love and search for the unknown has to lead me to places I never thought possible. And I believe it is the only way forward and far far away from the mundane life of the modern concept of how life should be.

My workspaces ranged from the dusty roads of Mirpur to the shade of the late Mango Tree in Pathshala. From spending time with Ree in the colorful world of Jatra to the calm mornings at O Design with Komla. Listening to countless political stories while working at the Secretariat of Bangladesh to exploring the vast world of fiction in narrow roads off Bangla Bazar.

Few things I contemplate about before saying yes to any project; Is the work challenging my current knowledge? Evaluating if I am suitable for the possible responsibility which will come my way. Assessing the process of work and how I can add value to it. And finally, I always trust my instincts and first impression of a person or place.

In my six years of shifting from one place to the other, I was always mindful to keep these few beliefs in check. A self-evaluation process which always helped me choose the right direction. One of the main reasons why joining O Design as it’s editor felt like the right decision. The magazine is till date one of the most challenging things I have taken responsibility for, but with a team like this and Komla beside me, I feel more than hopeful about our future.

I celebrate the amazing opportunities I was given over time and am grateful for the powerful souls who filled my life. Shifting positions and exploring perspectives when working helps me, instead of creating disruption. Modern society at it’s best is stuck in a preset and an ideological dilemma between, past, present and a limited idea of the future. We are at times the most unaware of our hidden selves and the power of exploration. Lastly, I know this journey of mine will be a never-ending adventure which will grow crazier with the days to come.

--

--

O design
Odesign Magazine

O design, a publication bringing forward everyday design aspects. A curious and bold bunch making an inclusive Magazine, dedicated to knowledge seekers.