Natalie
O-pen Book
Published in
1 min readMay 21, 2021

--

A person called ‘home’

I’ve never felt like I belonged

To a certain place or person

Every time I walked away

My heartstrings would break

My mind would erase itself

And I would look back

Unable to recognise

A familiar sight

But the only memory I have

Is from the day we met

From then on

Everything seemed to make sense

I remember

You told me

That you were having pizza for lunch

I remember

I asked you

What your favourite colour was

You replied with

‘Orange’

Because it reminded you of the sun

I remember

You made me a playlist

And said,

‘These songs reminded me of you’

Till this day

I still plug in my headphones

And put the playlist on loop

I remember

You liked a show

And we watched it together

I remember

Every time we called

And I would stay up

Until 4 in the morning

Just to hear your voice

Have you heard of the saying?

‘Home isn’t a place, it’s a person’

And when I’m with you

I feel like I’m home

--

--

Natalie
O-pen Book

If I don’t do something, nothing’s ever going to change.