The Playground

TANUSRI
O-pen Book
Published in
1 min readMay 22, 2021

The playground in my neighborhood means a great deal to me. I know it doesn’t seem much, but it is the place I’ve shed tears, blood and made my first friends, first fights, etc. I met a girl there, with curly short hair, she asked me whether I wanted to play catching with her. I was new to the neighborhood. I said ok, she seemed nice and friendly. I eventually caught her and we hugged before going back home…I’ve been best friends with that girl for 10 years now, and trust me time flies. The playground is a symbol of change. The playground has gone through so many developments and changes. The playground I played in is different now where my sister plays. Its the same land though. I saw kids grow up there. The kids I took care of while their mothers chit-chatted, are now in Secondary school. The boy who was a toddler, tugging on my shirt so I could throw a ball towards him, is a competitive football player. Me and my friend sit there every week just staring at all these kids that have grown up and become different people, even telling them their embarrassing stories till they start crying out loud for us to stop. Some of my friends have moved away, migrated, or well, too busy to come down anymore. However, it’s the memories and the people that matter. The love that was shared in that playground will continue to grow. I can’t wait to visit the playground soon!

--

--