Azure DevOps is Getting Smarter

Dave Lloyd
ObjectSharp (a Centrilogic Company)
2 min readApr 4, 2024

Almost a year ago (ok 8 months) I wrote a short article explaining how to Configure Azure DevOps for work management only.

In that article I explained how to remove various fields from a work item type when you are not using all of Azure DevOps.

In my example I talked about how you might turn off Azure Repos and/or Azure Pipelines because you don’t use them.

I further explained how you might want to remove the Development and Deployment sections on a work item since they will never be populated with any data, and yet they take up a lot of real estate on your work items.

As of February 2024 Azure DevOps is doing this for you. Release Notes

Turning off Repos will automatically remove the Development section on all your work items. Turning off Pipelines will remove the Deployment section on all your work items.

If you turn off both the work item will look like this.

Also if you connect a GitHub repo to Azure Boards, Development for GitHub repos will be displayed.

Thank you Microsoft, I’d like to think someone read my article last July and thought, that’s a good idea, we should build that in. :)

--

--

Dave Lloyd
ObjectSharp (a Centrilogic Company)

I have been writing software and teaching/coaching developers for 40 years. I love sharing knowledge and experience.