Shift

Mary Lan
Observations on Love
2 min readJul 1, 2015

--

I can’t forget your face,
your dimples revealing themselves when you smiled at me
The way you smelled,
like not a damn thing wrong with you

I can’t forget your voice,
when you said you missed me
The way your hair curled,
pointing out the stealthy angles on your face

I can’t forget how I felt,
like this was our past lives colliding
Stars once without a shape,
revealing a constellation of us

And I reveled,
in what I thought it revealed to me
A shift in time
A glimpse into all possible realities

I was overcome,
with all the light coming into me at once
Obliterating my every sense,
and leaving me too blind to see

When you started to shift,
out of our shared space
I caught your motion too late
Now I am the moon again

You, burning for lifetimes beyond mine
My heart in the shadows, cold and grey
This immeasurable distance between us
How does emptiness have so much weight?

Maybe it was always just me,
alone with this black sky,
looking for meaning in some sparkling dust
that keeps falling through my hands

Liked it? Recommend it, add a note, or share it. It helps the content reach others and gives me that happy feeling. =) Thanks for reading.

--

--

Mary Lan
Observations on Love

Founder of Higher Self Apothecary ✦ Unrepentant Polymath ✦ UX/CX/Business Strategy ✦ Not the only Dreamer (never let anyone convince you to stop TRYING)