14 Reasons to Love Obsidian as a Note-Taking Tool for my PhD

šŸŒæAnnette Raffan šŸŒ¼
Obsidian Observer
Published in
5 min readMay 8, 2023

--

Just a small collection of the reasons why I love Obsidian for research and maybe why you will too.

Screenshot by author from the Obsidian vault-opening screen

In many ways, Obsidian has become my happy place. Itā€™s somewhere central I can collect my thoughts. I donā€™t have to worry whether they are isolated ideas or whether they are an expansion of something which already exists. They donā€™t even have to make sense at the time.

In the line of George Orwell; all thoughts are created equal, itā€™s just some are more interesting than othersā€¦

ā€¦ but only at any one time.

Random thoughts might be useful and help connect something together several years down the line; I just donā€™t know. Or they might never surface again. All that matters is they are written down and made findable, ready for when I need them. I find it shocking how many ideas and little thoughts I completely forget.

ā€œThe meaning of a thought, insight, or memory often isnā€™t immediately clear. We need to write them down, revisit them, and view them from a different perspective in order to digest what they mean to us,ā€ said Tiago Forte in his book ā€˜Building a Second Brain.

Many we need to leave a while to simmer.

Obsidian came at a time of overwhelm in my PhD. Iā€™ve never been particularlyā€¦

--

--

šŸŒæAnnette Raffan šŸŒ¼
Obsidian Observer

šŸ“š Postgraduate researcher figuring out the researcher life one method at a time, introspective, plant person.